Can't connect to the internet with latest version of smart security installed

Discussion in 'ESET Smart Security' started by brickell, Mar 25, 2009.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. brickell

brickell Registered Member

Yesterday I downloaded the trial version of smart security from the eset website, got everything installed and thought it was working fine. Then I realized that I couldnt connect to the internet. Actual connection was fine just couldnt get any webpages to load and email kept timing out. I tried disabling all the features but it didnt help. So this morning I uninstalled the program and am now able to connect without any problems. This is my first time using the program.

Can someone please tell me what Im doing wrong?

Thanks

2. silverfox55

silverfox55 Registered Member

You probably did nothing wrong. Look at this forum and you will see that there are a lot of people with the same problem, and waiting for ESET to maybe do something about it.

3. ronjor

ronjor Global Moderator

4. maxbfg

maxbfg Registered Member

The link doesn't helped me and I spent few hours to find out what was wrong:D

http://www.cexx.org/lspfix.zip
    http://www.snapfiles.com/download/dlwinsockxpfix.html

To fix this you need to use one of these free tools: WinsockxpFix , LSPFix - i used both of them (they basically do the same thing). The problem can be caused for example by HideIP software, which put some extra dlls into chain of files that control your connections.

5. DarrenDavisLeeSome

DarrenDavisLeeSome Registered Member

Or you could try this:

1. Go the the Command Prompt: Start>Accessories>Command Prompt.

2. Type in:ipconfig /release.

3. Disable your Ethernet NIC, WiFi, USB or whatever device you are using for your network/internet. You can either use the Device Manager or Control Panel>Network Connections.