Cannot restore archived image of C drive

Discussion in 'Acronis True Image Product Line' started by dakeeper, Oct 8, 2007.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. dakeeper

dakeeper Registered Member

Hi - after exhausting all possibilities im hoping this forum can help. Ive tried to use Acronis True Image to restore my system C drive from an old image I saved a few weeks ago. The archive has been validated as fine. But neither in pre-boot mode nor from a boot CD of Acronis will it proceed to replace the existing C image with the archive one. It jumps almost straight to windows booting up. Grateful for any advice. Thanks in advance.

2. visch1

visch1 Registered Member

I’m no expert on giving directions regarding things I do automatically but a couple things come to mind. #1 would be to check and make sure the PCs boot bios is set to CD as first choice, floppy 2nd and hard drive 3rd.. to get into bios repeat depressing the delete key, (on many machines). When trying to work on a image with windows just start the program and follow the confusing, to me, directions. Next cross your fingers.
    GOOD LUCK!

3. dakeeper

Thanks for feedback. Just to clarify I can access both the recovery manager and CD mode versions of Acronis and can follow all the directions required to replace the system c partition with the archive one. Its when Acronis goes to execute this that the system just skips straight to boot. Would this be cured by changes in choice of boot order for CD etc? Im assuming you thought i couldnt get to Acronis perhaps... thanks.

4. John Farrar

John Farrar Registered Member

Assuming you can access the C: drive from a normal boot, can you run CHKDSK C:/ r from the Start>Run line and then re-boot? Its a long shot but may help.
    Good luck

5. dakeeper