Cannot reinstall TI7

Discussion in 'Acronis True Image Product Line' started by etruss, Apr 18, 2005.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. etruss

etruss Registered Member

I have been using TrueImage 7 for several months with no problems. A couple of weeks ago, I did a full image but instead of backing up to one big file, I backed up to 3GB-sized chunks so I could copy them to DVDs. This was the first time I did this. It seems to have worked fine.

The next day, I tried to do an incremental backup. It would get to the last step and it just hangs and does nothing. It also adds a scheduled job each
    time I do this instead of starting immediately. I had a similar problem before and I just re-installed to get it to work again. This time it will not let me re-install. Every time I try, it seems to work fine until it gets to the end. Just after installing the drivers, I get a screen that says "Thank you for choosing Acronis True Image. Unfortunately, the program cannot continue because an error occurred. Please attempt to run Acronis True Image again later." I've tried several times and it does the same thing. Also, after this error, there are no files in the folder - it's empty. What do I do now? I need to do a backup soon.

I've tried installing both my original file from 12/25/2003 and the latest version from the Web site. Both refuse to install as above.

Running Windows XP SP2.

2. Menorcaman

Menorcaman Retired Moderator

Hi,

Boot into Windows "SAFE" mode (press F8 during boot) and try installing TI from there. If that doesn't work it's worth opening the Task Manager (Ctrl + Alt + Delete), select the "Process" tab then select the following services and click on "End Process" for each one in turn:

TrueImageMonitor.exe
    schedhlp.exe
    schedul2.exe

With all three processes stopped, try the reinstall again.

Regards

3. etruss

etruss Registered Member