Cannot get proxy to work...

Discussion in 'privacy problems' started by fannymites, Sep 24, 2005.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. fannymites

fannymites Registered Member

I've been trying to set up a tor/privoxy/proxomitron combination but cannot connect.
    I first followed instructions here to setup tor and privoxy - http://tor.eff.org/cvs/tor/doc/tor-doc-win32.html
    Everything seemed to be going well and according to a couple of test sites I was not showing my ip address or country of origin.

I then followed these instructions to add proxomitron into the equasion - http://kyeu.hostingzero.com/proxo/f...voxy tor&sid=02d793fb2b6046d816e53cebcc730597

And then read this thread for more tips and firewall settings - https://www.wilderssecurity.com/showthread.php?t=55748

I cannot connect to anything and when I disable the firewall rules, proxomitron are both asking for access to various ports that were already allowed in the rules.

I have no previous experience of proxies so I don't know where I'm going wrong.

2. Kye-U

Kye-U Security Expert

What firewall are you using?

I recommend following my guide by itself. It walks you through the entire process.

3. fannymites

I'm using kerio 2.15.
    Your guide seems very simple and straight forward so i don't know where I'm going wrong here.

4. Kye-U

Kye-U Security Expert

5. fannymites

Well I had made a slight error in my rules which was messing things up.
    It seems to be working ok now in Firefox and IE but I'm not sure how to test it, Shields-up and Sygate firewall tests are both showing the wrong ip adresses and are also showing loads of open ports when they are normally stealth. That means it's working right cos it's not my computer that is being scanned. Also kerio's logs are showing nothing being blocked from those sites as it normally does.