can you be anonymouse ?

Discussion in 'privacy problems' started by garry35, Aug 30, 2013.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. garry35

garry35 Registered Member

i know this question has been asked before, but i dont think i cant find a definitive answer.

considering that no matter how many precautions you take, the trail almost always leads back to you.... eg you subscribe to a VPN and the payment can be traced back even if you use bitcoin they can still trace back to your bank or credit card otherwise they wouldnt be able to charge you, same with paypal or paying via SMS. i think the best most people can hope for is to make it MORE DIFFICULT for them to trace you. but obviously i am by no means an expert and lots of other people know more than i do, so any opinions are welcomed

Gazzer

2. lotuseclat79

lotuseclat79 Registered Member

Hi garry35,

To be anonymous, it is probably a good idea to use TOR, but not to use it to login anywhere, else your privacy could become compromised.

Otherwise, you have to "go off the grid"! There's a book about that - How to Disappear by Frank M. Ahearn.

I have heard of apartments/condos for sale in abandoned/refurbished missile silos - but, they are probably already purchased - the idea was to be self-sufficient.

-- Tom

3. zapjb

zapjb Registered Member

It's not anonymouse.

It's anonymice.

4. mirimir

mirimir Registered Member

That's a very good play on words :thumb:

To be anonymous, you must blend into a very large crowd, the larger the better. That's why Tor so strongly encourages its users to use its standard anonymity-enhanced Firefox. All Tor users ideally look the same. Without that, even Tor's onion-routing design can't provide true anonymity.