can someone help me pick a router, please?

Discussion in 'other software & services' started by iceni60, Jun 6, 2006.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. iceni60

iceni60 ( ^o^)

hi, i need to get an ADSL router. i don't really want wireless but if it can easily be disabled then it's not a problem. i've wanted to get one for ages but i knew there was something i was forgetting when i was looking (it turned out to be the ADSL bit :rolleyes: )

can you help me pick one from one of these links?
    http://www.komplett.co.uk/k/search.asp?q=ADSL router
    http://www.savastore.com/catalog/search.aspx?initial=true&keyword=ADSL router&x=0&y=0

i don't want to get something cheap and rubbish! just whatever's best. thanks.

2. WSFuser

WSFuser Registered Member

i have little experience with router but D-Link is generally a reliable and trustworthy brand. go for their DSL-504T.

Netgear is another good brand, so look at their DG834UK or the cheaper RP614.

3. NGRhodes

NGRhodes Registered Member

My Belkin has'nt missed a beat in 18 months running 24/7.

One thing to look out for is a proper SPI firewall rather than just firewalling by NAT (something my Belkin has).

Also seperate to the SPI firewall, my belkin allows blocking of ICMP traffic or not.

A good test for a router is how well they run emule/edonkey, searching their respective forums is a good start. http://forum.emule-project.net/index.php?showtopic=33645 is a good thread for starters (its not 100% complete by anymeans).

I bought a sitecom cheapo brand from Maplin and even though it supported port forwarding to open a port for emule it would'nt even allow emule to connect !

My old Linksys did'nt have an SPI firewall and would crash if emule maxed its connections out (instead of gracefully refusing anymore than it can handle like my Belkin does), had to be rebooted for every config change. You have to be careful of picking the right model when it comes to linksys.

Last edited: Jun 7, 2006