Can Rollback Rx Protect 2-HDDs?

Discussion in 'backup, imaging & disk mgmt' started by pvsurfer, Apr 6, 2006.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. pvsurfer

pvsurfer Registered Member

I have 2 fixed HDDs in my PC. When I setup Rollback Rx Pro, I chose the Default option. Is Rollback protecting both of my fixed drives or just the C-drive? I don't see anything that indicates one or the other... If it's just the C-drive, is Rollback even capable of protecting both physical drives?

Thanks, pv

2. sukarof

sukarof Registered Member

No, RB does not protect two physical drives. It only protects C and other partitions on the drive where C: is located.
    I have no experience on how many partitions it can protect tho. I have two partitions only, but my guess is that RB protects all partitions on the main drive.

3. ErikAlbert

ErikAlbert Registered Member

The User Manual, doesn't really talk about several harddisks. It always talks about the local harddisk.
    So I assume that it works only on ONE harddisk, the bootable harddisk, which is often partition C:

Keep also in mind that RB is NOT a backup software.

Straight from the RB User Manual
    So you need also an Image Backup software or File Backup software.
    If you have more than one physical harddisk, you need an Image/File Backup software to backup each harddisk.
    The last word "encouraged" should be "necessary" or even "absolutely necessary".

Last edited: Apr 6, 2006
  4. Peter2150

Peter2150 Global Moderator

When refering to protecting 2 drives, this doesn't relate to imaging. Rollback calls being installed "protecting" the drive.

Seems if my memory serves me right you can. But to be sure I'd read the manual and knowledge base.

5. pvsurfer