[bug]Strict & Lan gaming

Discussion in 'ESET Smart Security' started by elapsed, Apr 5, 2009.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. elapsed

elapsed Registered Member

2. Marcos

Marcos Eset Staff Account

You should capture the communication using Wireshark and send the log to support[at]eset.com with a description of the issue. Couldn't it be that you're running the firewall in automatic mode?

3. elapsed

Most definitely not. :)

4. Marcos

So what mode are you running the firewall in?

5. elapsed

I should have said, Interactive. The application in question had both in/out allowed.

6. elapsed

I should add that this happens in p2p gaming also, such as LAN RTS where no server is used. Sharing mode is still required for people to connect to you.

I have never used wireshark before so I'll try tinker with it, but I might not be able to get a log for a while. What exactly is it you're looking for? Have the firewall on in sharing mode and just log?

7. elapsed

Bump, I need a reply from you on what situation you want me to start logging/with what settings or I will miss my opportunity.

8. Marcos

That happens because ARP requests from computers not being in the Trusted zone are dropped if they weren't initiated by your computer. Disabling ARP cache poisoning should help, or simply add the remote computer to the Trusted zone.

9. elapsed

I'd prefer not to do either as I feel they are a compromise in security, this worked fine in v3 so what changed that made ESET require you to turn of sharing (which in my opinion doesn't relate to gaming) in v4?

10. Marcos

Enabling ARP cache poisoning detection with the firewall module v. 1045 will make your computer stealth against unitiated arp requests from outside the Trusted zone.

11. elapsed