Bootable Rescue Media Problems

Discussion in 'Acronis True Image Product Line' started by GreggC, Nov 24, 2006.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. GreggC

GreggC Registered Member

Let me preface this by saying I am new to TI.

I have been trying to create Bootable Rescue Media. On my first attempt, I created the ISO image successfully adding TI Full and DD Suite Full. I booted with the DVD, received the boot menu listing the TI Full and DD Suite Full and Windows. When selecting either TI Full or DD Suite Full, the computer reads from the CD for about 10 seconds, I get a brief splash screen indicating either TI Full or DD Suite Full, then the screen goes black and nothing else happens.

I created a second bootable disk, this time including TI Safe, TI Full and DD Suite Full. I booted with the DVD, again received the boot menu listing TI Safe, TI Full, DD Suite Full and Windows.

If I select TI Safe, TI Safe loads but only recognizes the partitions in my RAID array, not the *.tbi on the stand alone hard drive.

If I select TI Full or DD Suite Full, I get the splash screen but no further action after the screen goes black.

Any ideas?

2. Menorcaman

Menorcaman Retired Moderator

Hello GreggC,

Try the acpi=off noapic workaround as detailed in the Acronis Support sticky titled <Please Read Before You Post>. Watch the syntax - it's noapic, not noacpi ;).

Regards

3. GreggC

GreggC Registered Member

Menorcaman,

Thanks, you're procedure worked like a charm. I had read about in in the https://www.wilderssecurity.com/showthread.php?t=55317 thread, but did not think it applied to me.

So after successfully loading TI Full of the boot disk, I validated all three of the archives I had made of my three partitions. All three checked out properly.

Should I at this point attempt a restore in order to fully test the backup system?

4. Menorcaman

Menorcaman Retired Moderator