Blocking Bogon IP Addresses

Discussion in 'LnS English Forum' started by Cereal Gnome, Jan 18, 2008.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Cereal Gnome

Cereal Gnome Registered Member

I have been using Look'N'Stop for several years, and have recently come across a list of Bogon addresses that should be blocked if they are not needed on the network. These addresses are supposedly not to be routed over the internet, but some of the addresses such as 192.168.x.x are normally used with routers.

What I would like more information about is how to place these addresses in Look'N'Stop in order to block them in and outbound from my IP address. I would also like to totally block any of these IP addresses that are not needed on my LAN. The Bogon list is as follows:

0.0.0.0/7
    2.0.0.0/8
    5.0.0.0/8
    10.0.0.0/8
    23.0.0.0/8
    27.0.0.0/8
    31.0.0.0/8
    36.0.0.0/7
    39.0.0.0/8
    42.0.0.0/8
    46.0.0.0/8
    49.0.0.0/8
    50.0.0.0/8
    100.0.0.0/6
    104.0.0.0/5
    112.0.0.0/7
    127.0.0.0/8
    169.254.0.0/16
    172.16.0.0/12
    173.0.0.0/8
    174.0.0.0/7
    176.0.0.0/5
    184.0.0.0/7
    192.0.2.0/24
    192.168.0.0/16
    197.0.0.0/8
    198.18.0.0/15
    223.0.0.0/8
    224.0.0.0/3

Frederic, Phant0m, Cleminole or anyone having the knowledge of how to add these addresses to Look'N'Stop, I need to know how if there is benefit.

Sincerely,
    Daniel

2. Frederic

Frederic LnS Developer

Hi Daniel,

Yes, you can add rules to block these IP address for a better protection.

You need to create one rule per address (i.e per line from your post), then for each rule, select IPV4 protocol for ethernet Type, and on the right side of the rule edition (destination PC>>Net / Source Net>>PC):
    - select the Mask Criteria
    - just below enter the base IP address (0.0.0.0 for the 1st rule, 2.0.0.0 for the 2nd rule...)