BlackIce Vs Kaspersky Anti-Hacker

Discussion in 'other firewalls' started by shaunwang, Jul 7, 2006.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. shaunwang

shaunwang Registered Member

hi all,

Just need more suggestions, if I am a beginner which firewall should I be choosing ?

Next Questions,

1. Currently no one test a firewall fully on its pros and cons , firewalltestleak do not show this either. Is there anyone out there who had done this test on BlackIce (using more than 40mb of resources ) vs Kaspersky Anti-Hacker ( using more than 2000kb ++).

The differences here is seriously big, though BlackIce is using alot of virtual memory resources, the loading speed maintain the same while Kaspersky Anti-Hacker resources can be as low as 700kb to as high as 8 mb but the loading speed is maintain. [ sometimes blackice takes longer to load a website than kaspersky anti-hacker for this I understand coz blackice intrusion is at work all the time for each and every single packets is being monitored ]

2. Is there a way to find out which firewall is doing more protection than the other?? and what they reason for blackice is using so much resources for the blackd.exe which takes 14 to 15mb o_O

Both of them have intrusion system detection but the differences is one has a smaller library while one have a larger library.

3. In some areas my course module teacher said that some firewall maybe so called good but what is compiled inside you may never know, some can have a trojan input in it to monitor your activity some may be just there to leech your virtual memory resources. He uses ZoneAlarm Security Suite and he recommend it though.

here's the question which do you think should I focus on blackice or kaspersky been pondering for the past few months testing both of them ?