Best Rootkit Protection

Discussion in 'other anti-malware software' started by Pedro, Nov 7, 2006.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Pedro

Pedro Registered Member

Well this is my first thread, and maybe the only one. It's about what most concerns me: Rootkits.:ninja:
    1- What is, in your view, the best rootkit protection/prevention? Free and paid. You can name more than one of course. I use GeSWall + Prevx1 mainly, and playing with SSM free. Somehow i think it's missing something...:doubt:

And for detection, i use Rootkit Revealer and GMER. I have others, but mainly these. I really like GMER :thumb: , but no documentation exists, so i don't know how to use it, not really. I'm not an expert. I get concepts. Period. There are a lot of options in GMER, even for protection, it looks like a powerfull tool.
    2- So how about some of the experts here start a thread to write a manual? Starting with the basics and moving on? If he agrees with it. It would save him time to continue the development of the program. And many of us would appreciate the effort. As you go forward, send him the progress for correction.
    Is it a bad ideao_O?

2. aigle

aigle Registered Member

Protection- A sandbox &/or HIPS( GW and SSM)
    Detection- BlackLight, Gmer and PWalker(Process Walker)
    Removal- clean snapshot/ image or reformat

Last edited: Nov 7, 2006
  3. Marcos

Marcos Eset Staff Account

Don't forget about NOD32 2.7 which makes removal of active rootkits a piece of cake :)

4. lu_chin

lu_chin Registered Member

Hi Marcos, can you explain a little bit more on this new feature of NOD32 v2.7 (e.g. how to use it)? I am running it now but I cannot distinguish its new features from v2.5.

Thanks.

5. Pedro

Pedro Registered Member

PWalker... don't know that one. Does it work on windows or need cmd?
    And what do you say of no.2? GMER manual?

6. Firefighter

Firefighter Registered Member

7. aigle

aigle Registered Member