Best free 'out the box' for newbie

Discussion in 'other firewalls' started by Iangh, Oct 8, 2006.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Iangh

Iangh Registered Member

What's considered the current, best free set 'out the box' firewall for a complete newbie.

I'm talking about somebody who is very new to PCs and mature (53).

It's not me!

Still ZA? How about Comodo?

Thanks
    Ian

2. gevin

gevin Registered Member

i prefer Comodo. It do a good job and simple to use. easy config, few "alert/permision" popup, almost install n forget about it.

3. duke1959

duke1959 Very Frequent Poster

I simply love Comodo Firewall. I have it in learning mode and it still passes all the Leak Tests. Also when I had a question about something awhile back, it was answered in their forum right away. I have used ZA Free, and Sunbelt Kerio Personal Firewall Free and although I liked something about each one, Comodo is superior to both of them, and I suspect at this point maybe even superior to the paid versions of both of them as well. I have also used many different Free Antivirus and Antispyware Programs, so take it from someone who likes trying many different softwares (And needs to stop. LOL.) when I say that at least for me, this one is a keeper.

4. the Tester

the Tester Registered Member

Another recommendation for Comodo.
    It's the best firewall I have used and I have ran a few.;)

5. mercurie

mercurie A Friendly Creature

Comodo has overturned ZA. ZA rein as best free, days are numbered if not gone. Thank you very much Checkpoint. :mad: :p

Last edited: Oct 8, 2006
  6. InfinityAz

InfinityAz Registered Member

Ian,

Because of the above statement, even though it appears that Comodo is superior to ZA, I think the best choice is ZA. I think someone very new to PCs will find Comodo confusing (they may still find ZA somewhat confusing but not as much as Comodo).