Best Backup Method to Restore to a Different Computer

Discussion in 'Acronis True Image Product Line' started by veritasffg, Jul 11, 2008.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. veritasffg

veritasffg Registered Member

I have TI Home Ver 11. Just installed it yesterday so I am very new at this. My computer started displaying bad symptoms today (apparently problems with the power on process) and it appears that my 7 year old machine may be nearing the end of its lifetime. I'm seeking advice as to which backup method I should use if I expect to try to restore to a new, or different, computer. Or is that even possible? Any advice will be greatly appreciated, and if it can be received right away (since I expect a disaster to occur at any moment), it will be appreciated even more. Altho I have installed the software, I have not performed any backup at this point.

2. DwnNdrty

DwnNdrty Registered Member

Immediately, if not sooner, make the bootable True Image Rescue CD and make a Backup of the entire system. I would also backup, using Windows Explorer, any data files, pics, mp3 files etc. to an external hard drive (I hope you have one.)

3. veritasffg

Okay - I have the Rescue Disk, and I've checked it out - it works. I plan to backup to a network share, and I don't expect any problems with that. My question, however, is: Is there any way I can perform a backup (preferably an image) of the system on this (7 year old, failing machine) PC, and simply, easily, restore both the operating system and applications and data to a hard drive on another PC (since I expect that the original system will have to be replaced)? Eventually, I would like to write the image to DVD-RW disks, from correctly sized image files written to a network drive. I understand this is possible with Acronis software.