BD Wallet vs Firefox Password storage

Discussion in 'other anti-virus software' started by JerryM, Sep 3, 2013.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. JerryM

JerryM Registered Member

I use FF and recently have changed my AV to Bit Defender. BD has Wallet which is a password manager. FF also managed passwords.

Is there any reason that Wallet is more secure than the password manager in FF?

Thanks,
    Jerry

2. lodore

lodore Registered Member

Hey Jerry,
    there is malware which have the ability to Steal passwords from browsers.
    I prefer to use an offline standalone password manager and In my case I use keepass.
    I have no experience with bitdefender password manager so no idea how good or safe it is.

3. JerryM

JerryM Registered Member

Thanks, Lodore. I did find this on the BD forum.
    Quote: "That’s why Bitdefender has created Wallet, a utility that ships today with the New Bitdefender. This virtual wallet can be used to store bank account numbers, PINs, credentials for websites, e-mails, subscriptions, applications or wireless networks, keeping all sensitive data together and encrypted in a single location locked with a master password." End Quote

It sounds good, but I admit my own ignorance regarding such things. I do not know if the password managers by the browsers are encrypted or not.

Regards,
    Jerry

4. FOXP2

FOXP2 Guest

IMHO, how secure or not is a password manager is a matter of trust between the user and the developer. One can only review the feature set advertised, poke the forums and reviews if any, and make a decision.

A password manager could be anything from a password protected text file you open as needed and you read/type your login strings to an app where you click on the My Walla-Walla Bank Account item you created and the next thing you see is your accounts home page in the default browser or one of proprietary association.