Backup to DVD question

Discussion in 'Acronis True Image Product Line' started by ddbaby11, Sep 6, 2004.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. ddbaby11

ddbaby11 Registered Member

Hi,

I am new to TI 7.0 but not new to backing up. I have a standalone PC running Windows XP Pro. I purchased this software after doing a complete reintall for the umpteenth time. All I want is to make a snapshot of my harddisk after a fresh install and all updates have been applied. Then I want to safe guard that snapshot on a DVD-RW disk. I have the latest build of TI 7.0, the latest NEC firmware for the DVD drive and SP 2 for Windows XP Pro. Here are my questions:

1. Why does Acronis report the drive as a CD-R drive and not a DVD-RW drive as Windows and every other program does.

2. I am able to create an image directly onto the DVD disk, but Acronis always starts the process by asking me to put a disk in the drive. Well, there is always a disk in the drive when Acronis asks for one. This obviously nullifies any scheduled session, as I have to at the keyboard to click on OK and let the program know there is already a disk in the drive.

3. I call the backup set I'm creating onto DVD disks "First Complete Backup". The backup spans three disks at normal compression. After disk one is full, it tells me to mark it as disk one and insert a new blank disk. Once disk two is full, it tells me to mark it as disk FOUR and insert a new blank disk. Why does Acronis think disk two is disk four? Could it be because it thinks my drive is a CD-R and not a DVD-RW with much higher capacity?