Backup Raid 0 WIndows XP Nvidia Raid Nforce4 MB

Discussion in 'Acronis True Image Product Line' started by Avatar, Mar 12, 2005.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Avatar

Hi,

I am new to RAID basically setup my system, MSI K8N Diamond Winchester 3500+ with 2x Seagate 160GB SATA drives in RAID 0 installed Windows XP Pro all fine, until i tried to backup using Ghost 2003, it worked but gave me like 10 images.

What i would like to know is will Acronis backup my RAID array, otherwise i will have to abandon RAID and try out Dynamic striped drives using XP Pro, or just go back to simple drives.

Many Thanks.

2. Menorcaman

Menorcaman Retired Moderator

Hello Avatar,

Currently, TI's boot rescue mode doesn't support Nforce4 RAID. Whilst you can backup your RAID 0 system volume running TI in Windows mode, you wouldn't be able to restore it. Please see this previous <Acronis Support reply> for more details.

Regards

3. Avatar

Thanks Menorcaman,

So if i did the following had my 2x 160GB Sata in raid 0, had a third ide drive which has windows loaded onto it and TI8, used this also to store the backup images, then if my RAID array failed, could i put the IDE drive as my primary master load up windows and restore the RAID 0 image directly to the array?

Hope this makes sense, i have spent all weekend trying to get a backup solution to RAID 0 and am about to give up and just go with simple volumes or dynamic disks.

Many Thanks

4. Street14

Street14 Guest

Hiya well im not exactly sure why you are useing Raid 0
    As raid0 does not support a recovery option at all in any form.
    If you are trying to use raid as a pure hard drive back up you need to use i think. Raid 1 or Raid 5.
    Your raid controller must support those functions.
    Raid 1 requires no less then 2 hard drives raid 5 i think requires no less then 3 hard drives.