Backup Program

Discussion in 'backup, imaging & disk mgmt' started by Badcompany, Oct 3, 2006.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Badcompany

Badcompany Registered Member

Hello Forum,
    I'am looking for a backup program,I have never used one before so a nice and easy one to start with. I have only used System restore.please can someone head me in the right direction.
    Badcompany.

2. Mrkvonic

Mrkvonic Linux Systems Expert

Hello,
    Files or entire partitions / drives? Free or money?
    Mrk

3. Badcompany

Sorry forgot to say: Entire partions Paid.My problem was, i was playing about in the registry and when i re-booted i only got the Welcome screen so i had to re-install the OS again,I dont want this to happen again.

4. grnxnm

grnxnm Registered Member

5. Mrkvonic

Mrkvonic Linux Systems Expert

Hello,
    I would suggest Acronis True Image.
    Mrk

6. ErikAlbert

ErikAlbert Registered Member

I use the combination :
    1. Acronis True Image Home for image backup : image backup is a MUST.
    2. FirstDefense-ISR for immediate system recovery : this is luxury, but very convenient and much faster than image backup. It's a kind of replacement for Windows System Restore, but it does alot more than that.
    Both softwares make me feel invincible since I have them on my computer.
    I suggest an external harddisk for your backup, this is the safest and fastest solution. Don't fool around with CD/DVD's for backup, they crash more than harddisks.

7. bellgamin

bellgamin Registered Member

I recommend Image for DOS (IFD).

IFD is cheap. It is simple (my 8-year-old granddaughter uses it). It fits on a floppy. It cannot get screwed up by Windows. It works with ALL versions of Windows & Linux. The support is superb, but 99.999% unnecessary.

8. Badcompany

Hi bellgamin,
    Thanks for your reply,I don't understand the difference between Image for DOS and Image for Windows.Do you need both.

9. ErikAlbert