Backdoor Trojan Detection

Discussion in 'malware problems & news' started by deaditeash, Mar 14, 2002.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. deaditeash

    deaditeash Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2002
    Posts:
    14
    Ok - I was using ProPort to monitor my port activity and it identified a suspicious active port = port 80 and says I possibly have the Backdoor Trojan.  I ended the connection in ProPort but what program should I use to scan for backdoor?  I have ANTS and it didn't detect anything...how can I know for sure.  I would prefer to use something without having to purchase...

    deaditeash
     
  2. Checkout

    Checkout Security Rhinoceros

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2002
    Posts:
    1,226
    TDS-3 is inexpensive and you can't get better.  I understand completely how important peace of mind is when it comes to trojans, so don't short-change yourself.  However, try a few freebies from Wilders' anti-trojan page first, by all means.
     
  3. deaditeash

    deaditeash Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2002
    Posts:
    14
    Thanks for the info - I am going to install the evaluation version tonight...

    Deaditeash
     
  4. Checkout

    Checkout Security Rhinoceros

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2002
    Posts:
    1,226
    There's a great deal to it, more than you might guess at first.  It works out-ofthe-box but you'll benefit from investing time in the docs - and you'll be eligible for the upcoming V4 release, which promises to be v. cool indeed.  I hope you have a good experience with it.  I have, and I still have a lot to learn about it.

    No, apart from being utterly in love with Jooske, I have no affiliation with DCS.

    But I'm open to offers, Wayne!
     
  5. UNICRON

    UNICRON Technical Expert

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2002
    Posts:
    1,935
    Location:
    Nanaimo BC Canada
    you are making me jealous after all those PMs!
     
  6. Checkout

    Checkout Security Rhinoceros

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2002
    Posts:
    1,226
    Oh, Unicron, you know you're the only DCS Moderator for me!

    ('Scuse me, I need to find a bown paper bag...)
     
  7. Jooske

    Jooske Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2002
    Posts:
    9,713
    Location:
    Netherlands, EU near the sea
    Johoo UNICRON, Girlspower and i'm not even blond... but i've other qualities. I'm so happy the TDS family is here1 :)
     
  8. wizard

    wizard Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2002
    Posts:
    818
    Location:
    Europe - Germany - Duesseldorf
    Which Windows version do you use? Some Windowsversion (NT/Win2k) maybe installed the Microsoft Internet Information Server (IIS). Did you checked if this is installed on your computer? Do you run any other web server software? Or maybe spyblocker?

    If you use NT/2k/XP you can download Active Ports from http://www.ntutility.com/freeware.html . It is a freeware tools which gives you more information about which program opened a port.

    wizard
     
  9. deaditeash

    deaditeash Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2002
    Posts:
    14
    I have Win ME and actually now I realize that it's probable just detecting SpyBlocker since that is listening on port 80...I also have Spybot, ad-aware, and I just scanned with eval of TDS and no trojans found!

    deaditeash
     
  10. wizard

    wizard Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2002
    Posts:
    818
    Location:
    Europe - Germany - Duesseldorf
    Yes Spyblocker keeps Port 80 open. So need to worry. :)

    wizard
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.