AVs that are vulnerable to being Disabled

Discussion in 'other anti-virus software' started by richrf, Oct 17, 2004.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. richrf

richrf Registered Member

Hi all,

My copy of Nortons Systemsworks is coming up for renewal. I am considering McAfee and KAV but also others if they are compatible with my system setup.

My current concern is that I believe that NAV is vulnerable to being disabled by certain exploits. This may have already happened lots of weird stuff was happening on my system before it crashed and I was unable to re-boot. (Prior scans with McAfee and KAV could not find anything but I think something was definitely there).

Anyway, is it possible for exploits to disable NAV. Are there reasonable ways to prevent this? If not, are there better AV solutions that are less susceptible to this problem. I would appreciate any advice. Thanks.

Rich

2. Ailric

Ailric Guest

Not being an expert, I'll tell you what I know. Most people that I help with thier computer had Norton disabled - one was by the agobot worm. This could have been prevented by a firewall not allowing the attacker to re-infect the computer.

One method to help avoiding this is to have your AV password protected. KAV and NOD32 are a couple that have password protection. McAfee dosen't have password protection but seems a lot less vulnerable to this exploit.

3. RejZoR

RejZoR Lurker

Technically there is no limits on killing the AV process. Its not that hard to do it at all. Its harder to protect such processes. Even Process Guard can be bypassed.

Password protection is just to keep users from changing the settings.
    Worm doesn't bother with passwords. It simply kills the process or erases some important entry that is required for AV to work correctly.

4. Sweetie(*)(*)

Sweetie(*)(*) Registered Member

Nod32 has a secure password and start up procedure, also very fast scanning.