AVG & RegDefend?

Discussion in 'Ghost Security Suite (GSS)' started by Robyn, May 23, 2005.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Robyn

Robyn Registered Member

I installed RD yesterday and am certainly in leaning mode with it running at the default settings.

I am puzzled when I opened AVG before shutting down last night - I have the quick test on open set that RD came out to warn me about AVG
    d:\progra~1\grisoft\avg7\avgwa.dat wanted to modify Allow/Block - always etc
    I allowed as I knew I had just opened AVG and it had been updated earlier but it is now in my list of 'Applications Permissions Override' is this correct or do I remove it from there? o_O

I am very new to RD so apologies if this is a really silly question :oops: I know I knew I was using AVG but wondered if it was correct that RD would warn me & I could set this to 'allow' all the time or do I only allow 'once'? o_O

BTW is there a way to copy and paste the details of something like this to clipboard as I have had to type the exact data from the section?

Thanks for any advice

2. Bowserman

Bowserman Infrequent Poster

Hi Robyn,

If it is something that AVG does frequently, then it is fine to leave it in the APO list (Application Permissions Override).

RegDefend is warning you due to the fact that AVG is accessing one (or more?) of the registry entries in one of the groups. Allowing it to happen all the time or just the once is completely up to you. If it is something that RegDefend alerts on frequently in regards to AVG, then yes, by all means don't be afraid to allow it indefinately :).

Each time you recieve a Regdefend alert and either allow or block, it will be recorded in the logs. To copy from the logs, simply highlight the entry or entries and press CTRL+C to copy the entry.

Best regards,
    Jade.

3. Robyn

Robyn Registered Member

Thank you Jade