AVG detects virus in TDS-3

Discussion in 'other anti-virus software' started by phduffey, Dec 5, 2003.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. phduffey

phduffey Registered Member

For the last two weeks, AVG when run detects a "virus" in TDS-3. which it identifies as hidden extensions .shs. It says it has "Healed" the virus, but it finds it again next time. Will someone please comment.

2. Prince_Serendip

Prince_Serendip Registered Member

:) I'm not an expert in TDS-3 but I've used it and I also use AVG. This is most likely what we call a false-positive. TDS-3 is an extremely versatile application. The reason it is coming back is perhaps it is a file needed by the program?

Tip: When you use scanning software such as an AV, when it detects a "virus," you can save yourself a lot of later grief if you quarantine that file first. If it turns out to be a false-positive you will not have lost that valuable file. ;)

3. Gavin - DiamondCS

Gavin - DiamondCS Former DCS Moderator

It seems AVG free doesnt give you the option to choose what to do with the guard ? This is not good.. can you note the filename and let us know ?

You could possibly disable it and get a copy of the file but let us know what it is called first just in case. If we can see the file then we can give you a better indication of what to do to get rid of it forever.

Also its because you are scanning ZIP file and TDS unzips to a temp folder to scan it. So turn off ZIP/RAR scanning in TDS Scan Control to stop it ? :) if this works next scan then you know its in a zip somewhere..

4. phduffey

Gavin, It is elusive and hard to find. There is a TDS-3 ZIP filewhich I tried to attach. It is called TDS3ZIP, scrap object, 11kb. I have turned off the ZIP/RAR and will scan again. Paul

p.s. When I tried to post the reply, the program would not allow me to upload an shs file.

C:\Trojan Killer\Trojan killer\TDS3\TDS3.ZIP.shs

5. Paul Wilders

Paul Wilders Administrator