Avast 7 and Comodo Firewall: Which sandbox to use?

Discussion in 'other firewalls' started by paniccom, Jun 23, 2012.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. paniccom

paniccom Registered Member

I've been playing around with another firewall after running Comodo Firewall for quite a while. Never had any problems with CF, but wanted to see what's out there. I found my web pages loading much faster with a different firewall, but wondered if it was because I was giving up some security, ie, not scanning the web pages as thoroughly or something. So I thought I'd give CF another looking over, and now I'm wondering if it's because both Comodo and Avast have overlapping features.

The sandbox was set to disabled on CF when I installed it and I don't know if that's the default or if it recognized that Avast had sandbox enabled, and shut off it's own sandbox. Please bear in mind I'm not a techie like the helpful people on this site, but I like to at least make an attempt to keep things safe and as quick as possible.

So I'm asking if I should run both sandboxes or just one, and which of the two would you run? And maybe, any other way to make these two fine pgms run better together? Thanks all.

2. Ranget

Ranget Registered Member

sandboxie :)

3. paniccom

paniccom Registered Member

I see quite a few people list sandboxie on their security setups, but for now I'm just looking to make Avast and CF run well together. I never actually had any problems with them, but after trying a different firewall this weekend, I noticed such an increase in web page loading that I thought maybe I had something configured wrong in my original setup (Avast and CF). Thanks for the reply, I may try sandboxie down the road (THREE sandboxes?! My cats only have two!)

4. SpeedyPC

SpeedyPC Registered Member

G'day Paniccom,