Avast! 5 beta 1

Discussion in 'other anti-virus software' started by Az7, Aug 18, 2009.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. mevcit

    mevcit Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2008
    Posts:
    58
    Location:
    İstanbul, T?rkiye
    vlk,
    Yeah it was 5.0.104.

    IceCube1010,
    I use Windows FW, Windows Defender and Zemana Antilogger. I don't think they may cause a conflict, but before installing avast! 5.0.104 I had already tested McAfee 2010 beta, AVG 9 beta and BitDefender 2010 haha. Although I had some uninstallation issues also with AVG and McAfee, I thought I cleaned the remnants well. OK, I'll admit that they might cause the CPU and slow down problem or Windows 7 might be the relevant issue. It'll be better if another Windows 7 user can state his/her experience (I don't wanna install it again).

    However, I saw some other people on some Turkish forums who are experiencing the same mail shield and web shield trouble (dunno what OS they use).
     
  2. progress

    progress Guest

  3. fried_oyz

    fried_oyz Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 27, 2008
    Posts:
    22
  4. firzen771

    firzen771 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2007
    Posts:
    4,815
    Location:
    Canada
  5. Follower

    Follower Guest

    One of few products I am looking forward to. :thumb:
     
  6. mevcit

    mevcit Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2008
    Posts:
    58
    Location:
    İstanbul, T?rkiye
  7. mevcit

    mevcit Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2008
    Posts:
    58
    Location:
    İstanbul, T?rkiye
    Plus those, the same unistallation problem. :gack: OK, I should get calm now and use Revo Uninstaller to do some manual cleaning. o_O Something really has to be wrong between Windows 7 RC and avast! 5 beta. lol
     
  8. clocks

    clocks Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2007
    Posts:
    2,437
    Does the updater work with this version?
     
  9. mevcit

    mevcit Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2008
    Posts:
    58
    Location:
    İstanbul, T?rkiye
    Yes. And the database is complete. Have a look at the link in fried_oyz's post.
     
  10. firzen771

    firzen771 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2007
    Posts:
    4,815
    Location:
    Canada
    everything seems to work except for the webshield for me, and the behavior shield but thats a known limitation atm.
     
  11. the Tester

    the Tester Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2002
    Posts:
    2,854
    Location:
    The Gateway to the Blue Hills,WI.
    How about the Mail Shield? Does it work with Outlook Express now?
     
  12. Securon

    Securon Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2009
    Posts:
    1,792
    Location:
    Elliot Lake,Canada
    Good Evening ! Can't believe my eyes...Wow...Wow...Wow...did I say Wow! So far so good all Shields Operational, no lag, for a Beta this is Tre Impressive ! When the suite is introduced...I'll be first in line too purchase. Alwil will now be named Wow..wil. Sincerely...Securon
     
  13. progress

    progress Guest

    I agree, I really enjoy the new GUI ;)

    How long will this beta version work? :rolleyes:
     
  14. Fuzzydice45

    Fuzzydice45 Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 13, 2009
    Posts:
    108
    Location:
    Australia
    Can we get some screenshots of the new GUI?
    Thanks
     
  15. LagerX

    LagerX Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2008
    Posts:
    442
  16. progress

    progress Guest

    Avast 5 has killed a Mamutu file on my machine :thumbd:
     
  17. LagerX

    LagerX Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2008
    Posts:
    442
    Remember, it's BETA.
    Please report it on Avast's forum :)
     
  18. progress

    progress Guest

    I have no account on avast's forum but I sent the files from quarantine a few hours ago :) Everything was ok with Avast 4.8 but Avast 5 seems to contain a modified engine? :rolleyes:
     
  19. Page42

    Page42 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2007
    Posts:
    5,594
    Location:
    Last Breath Farm
  20. clocks

    clocks Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2007
    Posts:
    2,437
    The new GUI is very nice. I like the color scheme, and it isn't so gimmicky now. It also seems a little lighter than version 4. I really like where this AV is headed.

    One thing I hope they can improve is scan times. It seems to chug on media files. To scan my 100gig hard drive took about 2 hours.
     
    Last edited: Oct 4, 2009
  21. vlk

    vlk AV Expert

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2002
    Posts:
    583
    I suppose you meant 100 gig (not meg);)
     
  22. clocks

    clocks Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2007
    Posts:
    2,437
    HA HA Yes, I meant 100 gig. Sorry about that.
     
  23. firzen771

    firzen771 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2007
    Posts:
    4,815
    Location:
    Canada
    really? im not sure bout media files, but a quick scan goes faster than v4.8 for me.
     
  24. clocks

    clocks Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2007
    Posts:
    2,437
    Maybe its not media files. I have always found Avast, even version 4, to be very slow at scanning. It's great software and I have recommended it, but I would say that is something maybe they can improve on.
     
  25. RejZoR

    RejZoR Polymorphic Sheep

    Joined:
    May 31, 2004
    Posts:
    6,165
    Location:
    Europe/Slovenia
    Slow? Maybe if yu set it to thorough mode with Archives. But set on Standard without archives, it was always fast.
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.