Avast! 5 beta 1

Discussion in 'other anti-virus software' started by Az7, Aug 18, 2009.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. IceCube1010

    IceCube1010 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2008
    Posts:
    963
    Location:
    Earth
    thanks! The program looks promising. This might replace my current AV.

    Ice
     
  2. Diazruanova

    Diazruanova Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2008
    Posts:
    55
    Yes, it is Spanish and a good one, but whenever the guy pronounces in English, it sounds awful, because he spells all the English words as they should sound in Spanish!
     
  3. mvdu

    mvdu Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2003
    Posts:
    1,151
    Location:
    PA
    How do you remove this beta completely? Firefox got sticky, and even after uninstalling, it remains sticky.
     
  4. mvdu

    mvdu Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2003
    Posts:
    1,151
    Location:
    PA
    Looks like JV Power Tools fixed it. I'll try a later Avast beta.
     
  5. dell boy

    dell boy Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2009
    Posts:
    240
    Location:
    uk, england
    im not going to try the beta for three reasons,
    • firstly im ~Snip~ with betas causing me problems
    • secondly its a very early beta
    • thirdly im only listing because im testing different bbcodes
     
    Last edited by a moderator: Aug 21, 2009
  6. IceCube1010

    IceCube1010 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2008
    Posts:
    963
    Location:
    Earth
    Might sound like a silly question but does anyone know if the behavior shield is working?

    thanks
    Ice
     
  7. mevcit

    mevcit Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2008
    Posts:
    58
    Location:
    ─░stanbul, T?rkiye
    Read the first post here for detailed info about the beta.

    In answer to your question:
     
  8. IceCube1010

    IceCube1010 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2008
    Posts:
    963
    Location:
    Earth
    thanks!
     
  9. Brocke

    Brocke Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2008
    Posts:
    2,018
    Location:
    USA,IA
    im thinking their nexted beta will be great with all the fixes it will have compaired to beta 1
     
  10. RejZoR

    RejZoR Polymorphic Sheep

    Joined:
    May 31, 2004
    Posts:
    6,166
    Location:
    Europe/Slovenia
    Beta update is taking so long because we reported many bugs and i guess they are fixing them now.
     
  11. renegade08

    renegade08 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2008
    Posts:
    431
    One thing that i like about ALWIL company is not their product which is good, but thier patience.
    They aren't changing fast their builds and/or releasing new versions just for the sake of popularity.
    Almost every other vendor( not just the AV's) are trying to make deception for their customers with their New Major Releases: 2008, 2009, 2010 and so on.
    I think how much change they can make in less that a year?
    I don't understand why companies with yearly subscription model are going into this ridicilous scheme.
    If i'm not mistaken this first have happend with game releases (FIFA, NBA, NFL 03, 04, 05, 06).

    This is madness. And this must stop.
    (And NO, this is not Sparta).
     
  12. Victek

    Victek Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2007
    Posts:
    4,388
    Location:
    USA
    .
    I agree that it's not ideal, but the retail/home user market has evolved in a certain way and it's not all bad. People buy a one year license. At the end of the year they look around to see what's available, so the developer has to have a new version of the product to encourage the customers to stay with it. I take for granted that the marketing is exaggerated, but the competition in the security software arena is strong and the products really are getting better. The more traditional software development process - where version upgrades are not tied to the yearly calendar - is more honest, but also less exciting :)
     
  13. RejZoR

    RejZoR Polymorphic Sheep

    Joined:
    May 31, 2004
    Posts:
    6,166
    Location:
    Europe/Slovenia
    Beta refresh has just been released. And as expected, it's already much much more polished. Half of bugs i've reported are now working perfectly. It was certanly worth the wait.
     
  14. firzen771

    firzen771 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2007
    Posts:
    4,815
    Location:
    Canada
    any changelog?
     
  15. RejZoR

    RejZoR Polymorphic Sheep

    Joined:
    May 31, 2004
    Posts:
    6,166
    Location:
    Europe/Slovenia
    Can't say for other bugs, but i can say for bugs reported by me:

    What's new in 5.0.89:
    - tray ball icon spinning control is now working
    - "Updating" text in tray menu was changed to "Update"
    - updater doesn't hang anymore
    - proper detection by Security Center
    - shields can be re-enabled through tray menu controls
    - Adobe Flash requirement is now enhanced for Statistics page (avast! notifies you if you don't have flash installed)
    - GUI crashing is now fixed
    - actions on detected malware are working now
    - detection popups are now properly alligned and do not overlap each other
    - Status Bar details are now persistent through sessions
    - exclusions controls were enhanced (checkboxes for read/write/execute)

    This is what was reported by me and i can remember right now. I know there are many more fixes that are not listed here but these are the most important i think. More will follow with next update :)
     
  16. cupez80

    cupez80 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2005
    Posts:
    602
    Location:
    Surabaya Indonesia
    download link ??
     
  17. RejZoR

    RejZoR Polymorphic Sheep

    Joined:
    May 31, 2004
    Posts:
    6,166
    Location:
    Europe/Slovenia
    You can find it on avast! forums (beta section) or by invoking updater through Add Remove programs feature in Windows.
     
  18. cupez80

    cupez80 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2005
    Posts:
    602
    Location:
    Surabaya Indonesia
    right-click/context menu scan still not working ....
     
  19. IceCube1010

    IceCube1010 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2008
    Posts:
    963
    Location:
    Earth
    Yep confirmed. When they fix the above and get the definitions to work, I will be able to test it with my limited amount of malware samples. Avast 4.8 scores very well against them. I will try this version when the 2 issues are finalized. Overall I think this is a real nice beta.

    Ice
     
  20. trjam

    trjam Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2006
    Posts:
    8,939
    Location:
    North Carolina
    IceCube, excuse my ignorance but I honestly have not figured this out. Is the current beta just the free AV or is the suite out because I cant find it. Thank you sir.
     
  21. Victek

    Victek Registered Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2007
    Posts:
    4,388
    Location:
    USA
    .
    Try this link:

    http://files.avast.com/files/beta/5.0/setup_av_free.exe

    I found the link in the Avast forum. The file version I just downloaded is 5.0.89.0.
     
  22. the Tester

    the Tester Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2002
    Posts:
    2,854
    Location:
    The Gateway to the Blue Hills,WI.
    It's the free Av version.
     
  23. IceCube1010

    IceCube1010 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2008
    Posts:
    963
    Location:
    Earth
    Yes the free version only. Version 5.0.89 is much more stable than the first beta. Alwil are always quick to fix the bugs. That is their trademark. That is what makes them special in my book.

    Ice
     
  24. clocks

    clocks Registered Member

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2007
    Posts:
    2,437
    It's a step back for me. Just hangs at installation.
     
  25. RejZoR

    RejZoR Polymorphic Sheep

    Joined:
    May 31, 2004
    Posts:
    6,166
    Location:
    Europe/Slovenia
    Do you for some reason also have MSE (Microsoft Security Essentials) installed?
    Because for few users, the installer lockups and stalls were related to MSE being installed at the same time as avast! 5 beta.
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.