AV scanner question here

Discussion in 'other anti-virus software' started by notageek, Aug 16, 2002.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. notageek

    notageek Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2002
    Posts:
    1,601
    Location:
    Ohio
    Would it be cool to have 2 AV scanners on my systems? I only have 1 running in the background.
     
  2. Technodrome

    Technodrome Security Expert

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2002
    Posts:
    2,140
    Location:
    New York
    Most of us do have two AV scanners! Make sure that only one is running in the background.

    Technodrome
     
  3. wizard

    wizard Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2002
    Posts:
    818
    Location:
    Europe - Germany - Duesseldorf
    Two virus scanners is not a bad idea (if only one is running in the background of course). The second scanner should have "some strengh" where the first scanner is a little bit "weaker".

    Example: KAV is a very good scanner but has a less effective heuristic as KAV uses more "signature" detections. Recomendation for second scanner is one with a better heuristic scanning feature.

    wizard
     
  4. spy1

    spy1 Registered Member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2002
    Posts:
    3,139
    Location:
    Clover, SC
    notageek - I hope we're all on the same page here.

    When you get the second (or third or whatever) AV program, make sure you don't have it running resident (in SYSTRAY, for example), and that you do not have it set to do a boot scan if your primary AV program is already doing one and that you don't have the email-checking component active if your primary is already doing that, etc..

    I don't know about anyone else, but all I use anything besides NOD32 for is for verification. (Checking on false positives).

    IOW, when properly configured, you shouldn't see anything besides your primary AV program running (in SYSTRAY, or if you do a C/A/D or if you use a process-viewer of some kind to check running processes) at any time.

    And when you go to scan ('On Demand' only) with your secondary AV, make sure you shut the 'Primary' one down first. Pete
     
  5. notageek

    notageek Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2002
    Posts:
    1,601
    Location:
    Ohio
    I have Norton running now and was going to install my Mcafee. Thank everyone for clearing this up.
     
  6. Tinribs

    Tinribs Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2002
    Posts:
    734
    Location:
    England
    Mcafee and Norton running together!! Now theres a thought :eek:
     
  7. root

    root Registered Member

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2002
    Posts:
    1,723
    Location:
    Missouri, USA
    Notageek, I do not like to tell other people how to make decisions, especially when not asked. I would like to make a suggestion, however about that combination.
    If you read through the threads here and on several other boards, I think you will find a noticible lack of McAfee afficianados. If you are going to use Norton as your primary, it is my opinion and only my opinion, to go for something like Wizard was talking about.
    Norton is averaging decent scores in AV testing, but is not particularly strong in heuristics or trojan detection. Kaspersky, Doctor Web, NOD32, F-Secure, F-Prot, or PC Cillin would all be better protection in my opinion.
    I have had so many BAD experiences with McAfee missing virii, I just hate to say nothing when someone talks about putting any faith in that product. I'm sure someone is going to jump down my throat about that statement and say how well McAfee has worked for them, but my experiences have been very bad .
    So please pardon the unsolicited intrusion here, I mean only to offer what I believe is the best advice based on my experience.
    Over the years, I have changed my opinion several times about what product might best serve my needs. It has always started by listening to lots of people talking about what kind of results they get, and then doing my own investigating.
    The best to you.
     
  8. the Tester

    the Tester Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2002
    Posts:
    2,854
    Location:
    The Gateway to the Blue Hills,WI.
    For what it's worth,I have had a few probs with McAfee.(it came pre-installed on my pc)I do hear a lot of negatives about McAfee in different forums.But ,on the other hand,McAfee has passed virus tests also.I guess it's more a personal preferrence issue.If it works for what you need out of an av program,thats the important thing.
     
  9. notageek

    notageek Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2002
    Posts:
    1,601
    Location:
    Ohio
    Root no problem at all I wanted all the input here. Feel free to post anything you want. I just had Mafee laying around and thought i would put it on my computer but the sad thing is that it's 4.0 and that's just so out of date. I really don't want to pay the asking price for a new AV when I have norton as my main AV. I thinking of just getting a free one to use for my other backup AV.
     
  10. Technodrome

    Technodrome Security Expert

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2002
    Posts:
    2,140
    Location:
    New York
    OK notageek! In that case use Norton and free version of F-Prot(dos)!


    Technodrome
     
  11. notageek

    notageek Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2002
    Posts:
    1,601
    Location:
    Ohio
    Ok thanks I'm gonna look for f-prot(dos). I seen some other AV at webattack freeware. Not sure on them. Maybe somone here knows about them.
     
  12. Loki

    Loki Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 26, 2002
    Posts:
    193
    Location:
    Lake Worth, Florida, USA
    Hi Technodrome,
    I have NOD32 on a WinXP pro and tried to also use AVG free but NOD32 crashed my system so I un-installed AVG. I'm sure that I had only NOD32 running. Any idea's for a second scanner? I've had no problems with NOD32 since and really like it. :D
     
  13. Technodrome

    Technodrome Security Expert

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2002
    Posts:
    2,140
    Location:
    New York
    Hi Loki

    1.Get F-prot (unless you want to purchase Win version)For DOS it's FREE! F-prot will protected you where NOD32 is weak(zoo viruses even with a great deal of Trojans/backdoors).

    or

    2.If you got some extra money get KAV(best Trojan/Backdoor Scanner).

    I suggest you to go with NOD32/F-Prot combination unless you are $$$$ maker!


    Technodrome
     
  14. Loki

    Loki Registered Member

    Joined:
    May 26, 2002
    Posts:
    193
    Location:
    Lake Worth, Florida, USA
    Hi Technodrome,
    Thanks I'll try F-prot, and no I'm one of the poor. :) I save to get the best programs I can, but one at a time. :D
     
  15. Gnostic

    Gnostic Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2002
    Posts:
    108
    Location:
    South Carolina, USA
    Do you think F-prot will work with/complement AVG? I tried AVAST, but it wants to be resident and didn't seem to co-exist well with AVG.
     
  16. Tinribs

    Tinribs Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2002
    Posts:
    734
    Location:
    England
    Gnostic ,F-Prot (DOS) will compliment any program,AVG is a so-so antivirus,but its also light on resourses and a popular choice for resident protection so use F-Prot Dos as a second opinion on downloads (and maybe a mail attachments folder) and you should be safe (provided both are updated regularly and Safe Hex is practised) :)
     
  17. Gnostic

    Gnostic Registered Member

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2002
    Posts:
    108
    Location:
    South Carolina, USA
    Thanks for the input Tinribs. AVG is used by necessity. As I am so saintly, I do update it regularly and practice Safe Hex (even if it doesn't feel natural). I will look into d/l F-Prot.
     
  18. Tinribs

    Tinribs Registered Member

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2002
    Posts:
    734
    Location:
    England
    I think AVG for everyday is just fine,dont get me wrong,but F-Prot is great,Dos version especially,I have used it for years and it really is good, put onto floppies its a real life saver sometimes.
     
Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.