ATI-10 Installation Problem

Discussion in 'Acronis True Image Product Line' started by TUBAL73, Aug 29, 2007.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. TUBAL73

TUBAL73 Registered Member

Greetings:

I just purchased TrueImage 10 Home from the Acronis web site. I have the order
    number & serial number from the Acronis confirmation e-mail and have completed
    their registration form. TrueImage 10.0_s_en.exe has been downloaded to my
    desktop. My problem is that nothing happens when I double click the desktop
    icon. Neither "Open" nor "Run As" has any effect when I right click. Obviously
    ".exe" is not exe'ing and I don't know what to do next.

I have contacted Accronis Support via their web site and am awaiting a reply
    but I'd like to get started asap. I'm a computer novice so I need very simple
    step-by-step instructions.

I have a Compaq desktop PC with Windows XP Home SP2, Firefox browser and
    ZoneAlarm firewall. Any help will be greatly appreciated.

2. nb47

nb47 Registered Member

Try & reboot it ;it MIGHT help.Maybe even defrag it.

3. random110

random110 Registered Member

I too would think a restart would solve the problem.

Are you able to start any other setup files? My understanding is that when a Setup file is executed is has to open the Windows Installer Service or similar. If this is failing to start, it could be causing the problem.

4. TUBAL73

Rebooting was my first thought. Didn't help.
    Everything else seems to work fine.
    I disabled the ZoneAlarm firewall. That did'nt help either.

5. jmk94903

jmk94903 Registered Member

Well, those were my first two thoughts also.

If you have an antivirus or anti-spyware program, disable those.

If that doesn't let the download run, download it again. Perhaps something happened that corrupted the downloaded file.

You could also burn the downloaded file to a CD and test it on another computer to confirm that it installs correctly on a different system.

6. TUBAL73