Assistance Deciphering Firewall Events

Discussion in 'other firewalls' started by Nimda, Feb 26, 2013.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Nimda

Nimda Registered Member

I have been working remotely on my mom's computer in Australia and was checking the event logs for her home gateway modem / router.

After identifying a few attempts from china, korea and poland to (presumably) gain access to her system I cleared the event log.

After a couple of hours there were 4 new entries in the log that were different from the previous entries in that the 4 new entries did not list her computer as the destination IP - rather, the source (4 different IPs) was still overseas (china), but now the destination IP was another IP address in Australia.

It appears to me - I'm not an expert by any means - that someone is attempting to access another (a 3rd-party) computer, also in Australia, by first trying to go through my mom's computer - perhaps to somehow obscure the origin of the possible attack - just a guess.

Here are the entries from the event log - with the destination IP obscured by me to protect the unsuspecting owner of that IP:
    Feb 27 00:12:36 FIREWALL icmp check (1 of 1): Protocol: ICMP Src ip: 5.135.78.226 Dst ip: 101.162.xxx.xxx Type: Destination Unreachable Code: Port Unreacheable

Feb 26 23:18:22 FIREWALL icmp check (1 of 2): Protocol: ICMP Src ip: 210.73.75.145 Dst ip: 101.162.xxx.xxx Type: Destination Unreachable Code: Port Unreacheable

Feb 26 22:50:22 FIREWALL icmp check (1 of 1): Protocol: ICMP Src ip: 118.170.141.105 Dst ip: 101.162.xxx.xxx Type: Destination Unreachable Code: Port Unreacheable

Feb 26 20:50:33 FIREWALL icmp check (1 of 1): Protocol: ICMP Src ip: 183.61.254.121 Dst ip: 101.162.xxx.xxx Type: Destination Unreachable Code: Communication with Destination Host is Administratively Prohibited

What I am hoping for is that someone can shed some light on what is happening here (in the log) so that I can understand it a little better.