Are rule-based firewalls inherently more secure?

Discussion in 'other firewalls' started by Soul_Flame, Apr 17, 2002.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Soul_Flame

Soul_Flame Registered Member

I'm a longtime Zone Alarm Pro user.  For several different reasons, I've decided to get smarter about software firewalls and determine if I should use a different product.  

Now, I was over at Becky's forum asking questions about Look n Stop specifically, and how a rule-based app differs from an application-based one.  The basic explanation (which I'm sure is very high level and general) is that Look n Stop has 2 fundamental layers of protection.  The first is application based, and if an app is denied permission to establish connections, then that's the end of the story.  But if it IS granted permission to connect, then the rules set is invoked and used from that point forward.  

I'm probably oversimplifying it, but it sure seems to me like what's happening is a rules-based fw is doing what ZAP already does, and then applying a whole other level of control on top of that.  

So, that leads me to my basic question:  is a properly configured rules-based firewall inherently more secure than a properly configured application-based firewall, assuming both are good at 'what they do'?

2. root

root Registered Member

Re: Are rule-based firewalls inherently more secur

I prefer a combination rules and application based firewall. I really liked @Guard while it was still supported. I also liked Signal 9 firewalls a lot until McAfee got hold of them.
    I used LNS for awhile, but could not write rules the way I wanted to, so I went looking again. Too bad, as it's an excellent firewall. Finally settled on Outpost. I don't think anybody is going to find a more highly configurable firewall around.