Archives scanning, pure waste of resources or the final wisdom to clean PC?

Discussion in 'other anti-virus software' started by Firefighter, Feb 1, 2003.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Firefighter

Firefighter Registered Member

I have found on these sites, that there are very few discussions about the purpose of archives scanning capability. I am not a virus expert, and I can’t make any programs either, since Pasic program or what was the name of it some 25 years ago, but one issue makes me very suspicious about the whole av-business. Why very few av-programs are capable to scan enough archives? Let’s take for example NOD32; Kaspersky is capable to scan about 2,5 x files from my PC than NOD32.

When your are sending files from your PC to someone you want to be safe, and you are not sure about the security issues in that PC, there are about 60% of files that you don’t know anything about it, if you use for example NOD32. I know that Norton is also not so good archives scanner, but it is still number 1. sold program! As a pure amateur of making programs, this irritates me very much!

Let’s take a theoretical example: You have an absolute infected PC, you have never used av-programs before in your PC and your have surfed all the time in web in all possible dangerous sites. After that in your PC’s “My downloads” folder there are all kinds of infected files amount of 1000. Then you take an av-program to your PC, which is an average scanner, and it can detect only 99% of viruses, but it is capable to scan 80% of all files from your PC. After that you are sending the whole folder to your best frend, so the result is that your best frend gets some 208 viruses from you. But if you have NOD32, the ultimate best scanner according to Virus Bulletin, your best frend gets 600 infected files from you. So where is your responsibility?