Archive location

Discussion in 'FirstDefense-ISR Forum' started by janger, Apr 11, 2007.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. janger

janger Registered Member

Just a quick question.
    I'm new to FD-ISR. While checking it out I created an archive of a snapshot. But I forgot to set the location in options. It seemed to make the archive, but I can't find it. Does it exist and if so where? A search of my system partition doesn't find anything. But I don't really know what to search for :(

2. ErikAlbert

ErikAlbert Registered Member

Search with "*.ARX" (without the quotes). All archived snapshots have the extension .ARX, including the Freeze Storage.

In addition go to Tools / Options / Archives and provide an archive folder of your choice.
    Any archived snapshot you create in this folder, will be visible in the main screen of FDISR.

The archive folder can be anywhere : another partition, another internal harddisk, external harddisk, DVD, CD.
    The best way is an external harddisk, which is the safest place, if you keep it off-line.

Last edited: Apr 11, 2007
  3. janger

janger Registered Member

Yes, I know about the archive options like I said. After posting I realised about the .arx extension. A search including hidden and system files gives no result. Space was taken up when I made the archive, so it must exist. Just can't find the file though. Any ideas? It's not important really because a location should've been set first. But just trying to make sure it isn't a bug.

4. ErikAlbert

Check this out :
    1. Open Windows Explorer.
    2. Click on Tools / Folder Options
    3. Click on "View" Tab
    4. Look for the option "Show encrypted or compressed NTFS files in color" it should be marked.

ARX-files have a blue color.

5. janger

janger Registered Member