Application based firewalls

Discussion in 'other firewalls' started by chaos16, Aug 28, 2005.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. chaos16

chaos16 Registered Member

i am using outpost right now an i really like it as its light but i don't know if it's protecting me that godd as i am a noob?? is ouypost protecting me even if i don't really put rule but only if i alllow or deny etc..

but i outpost like zonealarm as it gives protection automatically?

i have been using zonealarm for a yr and now i have noticed that it's not as good as other firewalls and i have been using outpost ever since.

I used to use norton firewall as well but saw it was to hvy on resources etc..

Now i would like to know if kerio is better than zonealarm for lighht on resources and protection overall?

i would like to know if kerio can block more trojans,viruses etc better.

i don't want to try kerio and then having to go bak to outpost and lose the setting's.

so i would like to know tyhe advantages of kerio for me and the advantages of others i know how to use firewalls but i am no pro so i am not able to use look'n'stop.

2. The Hammer

The Hammer Registered Member

Suggest you read all the posts in Kerio versus ZoneAlarm. Where you have already posted as people who posted after you did have answered some of your questions.

3. chaos16

i have read it.

i know that the best firewall does not excist but there diffrent advantage that can suite u.

for example maybe one is light and blocks relly good automatically.

another one is maybe hvyier and protects u automatically

etc.. etc...

i would just like to know this for example

Outpost - light application based plus rules blocks really good.

kerio - .......

zonealarm - .......

tiny firewall - ...... not very user friendly no?

etc etc.....

4. bigc73542

bigc73542 Retired Moderator