appguard question

Discussion in 'other anti-malware software' started by Arcanez, Oct 30, 2011.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Arcanez

Arcanez Registered Member

hey there,

I'm kinda new to this software and there are a couple things I don't understand. When I installed it it was set to "high" so I guess that is the default setting for appguard. Well currently running it on locked down mode and added my legit programs to the guarded list but however some programs don't launch in locked down mode although I added them to the guarded list such as ProcessExplorer. Set all protections of ProcessExplorer to "no". Another example is EMET. Also added it to guarded list but it won't start in locked down mode.

Also I don't really get how it should protect you when let's say you download a software that you think is legit but you downloaded form a foreign source and the file is a dropper but you don't know that obviously. So you want to install that "legit" software and set your appguard to "install mode". Then you install the software and it unleashed the malware during setup process. I mean appguard is turned off. So I don't really get how it should protect you. When you want to install something you just have to turn appguard off. I don't get it...

For me the only point that makes sense it denying malware execution from other sources like pdf files etc...

Also I don't get the whole user space, system space thing. Appguard says that non admin users can save files to user space locations which is pretty much the c drive and user folders for me but I can as well save files to my whole D drive and anywhere else as standard user.

Do I have to set it up correctly first? Can anyone explain the correct usage of appguard. Or are there any good tutorials out there further explaining the usage of that program? Please enlighten me.

2. Dark Shadow

Dark Shadow Registered Member