AppDefend blocks all the leaktests!

Discussion in 'Ghost Security Suite (GSS)' started by [suave], Dec 9, 2005.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. [suave]

[suave] Registered Member

WOW,

I just tested AD against all the leaktests at firewallleaktester.com and it passed each test with ease.

I don't know of any firewall that can do that. :D

I got rid of outpost to get LNS, and now i'm thinking of ditching LNS and using AD only. What do you guys think?

2. tony62

tony62 Registered Member

How are you going to control what remote ports your app uses?? Or don't you care?
    Using a personal firewall gives you CONTROL over your applications!! A permit/deny, does not.

3. [suave]

nah... i don't really care. I've been using LNS's basic application filtering for a few months now. It's just a simple Allow/Deny. I don't go any further with rules for each app.

I only use trusted applications and I just like to decide which app uses the internet and which doesn't. Like, I caught adobe photoshop the other day trying to access the net. WTF... uhhh NO. LOL.

AD seems great for the way I use my PC.

Besides, I think Jason mentioned in this post that he might be addind some sort of feature to ghostwall which will allow to set some type of rules for certain applications. I think this is the same as what you are talking about right tony62?

4. tonyjl

tonyjl Registered Member

And what about inbound protectiono_O o_O

5. [suave]

I got a router that has a built in firewall. As I understand from the topic i linked to above, I don't need inbound protection when I have a router. All I need to worry about is outbound then... o_O

6. budfox

budfox Registered Member