Anyone Else Having Issues with OA's Latest Version?

Discussion in 'other firewalls' started by Zom17, Feb 17, 2011.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Zom17

Zom17 Registered Member

I have been running the Online Armor money version for four years now and it has served me well (XP Pro with SP3). Emsisoft bought it and released their latest version 4.51.431. Since then I have had slowed internet connection, slowed web page loading, etc.

Weekly I read a ton of minidump files. Prior to this version I had no issue using the latest verion of Windows Debugging Tool but now either I cannot fully open a file or it is painfully slow.

Yes, I did a number of diagnostic steps and the one thing it comes back to is OA.

Anyone else have issues? My license runs out in April and I am thinking of going for a free version of another firewall because hopefully I'll be building a whole new system; don't feel like spending the $ for my trusty but aging socket 939 system.

2. stapp

stapp Global Moderator

Have you tried uninstalling it, rebooting twice (important) and then installing again? As you say these things started happening when you installed the latest version perhaps the install didn't go as it should have done.

Did you do a 'trust all' install?

3. zip

zip Registered Member

OA fw has been bugware since day one through today.

I don't know which is buggier, OA or PCTools fw.:rolleyes:

IMHO, the avast! fw in AIS, Windows 7 Firewall Control (includes Windows 7 fw)

and ZoneAlarm are the best firewalls.

(Alphabetical order)

4. Zom17

Zom17 Registered Member

I personally have never had issues with OA in the least until this update I mentioned. I hope since Emsisoft took over that they didn't decide to bloat it. As for ZoneAlarm, I read a ton of minidump files and you would be suprised the amount of times ZA is the cause of BSODs.

5. Woody777

Woody777 Registered Member