any valid reason not to install XP SP2?

Discussion in 'other software & services' started by JonnyCheese, Apr 10, 2006.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. JonnyCheese

JonnyCheese Registered Member

I realize this question may make me seem like an idiot, but bear with me.

Is there any legitimate reason not to install XP Service Pack 2? Does it introduce any tracking or spyware-like behavior not already present in XP Pro?

I've been running XP Pro with SP1 and a few hotfixes for about three years now. I guess I was kind of put off by all the SP2 complaints when it first came out, so I never installed it.

I've run Firefox for a couple of years now. While I only recently switched from Outlook to Thunderbird, I was always very stingy about giving out my non-web-mail addresses, so I've not been hit by any e-mail borne viruses or worms. I've also been running NOD32 for over two years, and have been well-protected by it. I never did much P-2-P file sharing or warez downloading, so I've managed to avoid the most commonly malicious sites.

Despite what I feel are good practices, I think I've by and large gotten off lucky. The latest exploits border on the ridiculous, and one of the legitimate program I use that uses IE components is bound to get me sometime soon. Not to mention most of Microsoft's .Net development tools (which I need to pick up on soon) won't even install without SP2. I can't see any obvious reason why I shouldn't install it, but I border on the oblivious at times.

2. Notok

Notok Registered Member