Any Alternatives To What ShadowProtect Offers?

Discussion in 'backup, imaging & disk mgmt' started by DasFox, Oct 23, 2010.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. DasFox

DasFox Registered Member

In the past I've been using Image For Windows, but I'm switching gears now, looking for something that offers a bit more and so I started playing with ShadowProtect.

Along with ShadowProtect I know quite a few imaging apps, just haven't looked at them lately to remember what they offer.

I wanted to know if anyone knows if there are any other good alternatives that offer, VM Imaging/VirtualBoot, Bare Metal Recovery and a Scheduler for automatic full and incremental backups, or the options to just do them manually by hand, full and incremental?

The one thing that is turning me off over ShadowProtect at the moment, when I look through the Backup wizard, it looks like in order to use what they call, 'Continuous Incrementals' is that you have to purchase the Image Manager and I don't like companies that sell you something, then you have to pay more to use a feature in it.

I find this bad marketing and sort of like the idea of a switch and bait. I mean it would be one thing if the product was free and if you wanted to use an Advance feature then you had to buy it, that would be one thing, but to sell something, then say now in order to have an advance feature you need to pay more, well that just takes the cake in my book and I think that's a real low ball from the company for doing this. :thumbd:

So now I'm looking for some other alternatives that can do what this product can do I mentioned at the top...

THANKS

2. LenC

LenC Registered Member

Image Manager comes (free) with Shadow Protect. I believe it is a separate install (I don't use it), but it is free.

3. DasFox

DasFox Registered Member

Last edited: Oct 23, 2010
  4. LenC

LenC Registered Member

Last edited: Oct 23, 2010
  5. DasFox

DasFox Registered Member