antivirus

Discussion in 'other anti-virus software' started by bravesrule, Jan 27, 2005.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. bravesrule

bravesrule Registered Member

whats the best antivirus for a old cpu

2. Pilli

Pilli Registered Member

You do not state what operating system you are using but I gues it is possibly W98?
    If so Fprot has both a windos version and even a DOS version which are low on resources. Here is the link for the DOS version: http://www.f-prot.com/products/home_use/dos/ and you will find a link for the Windows version on that page.

I am sure you will get more suggestions to try. :)

HTH Pilli

3. JimIT

JimIT Registered Member

F-PROT, NOD32, Command (Authentium), Dr. Web, AVG, and now Avira/AntiVir are all low-footprint AV's for yer old box... ;)

4. Blackcat

Blackcat Registered Member

Depending on the amount of memory on your system, even KAV 5 Personal may be worth a trial.

I have been running it for several months on an ancient 400Mhz, 192MB computer without any slowdown whatsoever ;)

Trial some of the AV's suggested and see which one suits you and your system the best.

5. AnthonyG

AnthonyG Registered Member

I would have to disagree with the kav suggestion, i tried it on my computer Atholon 2200xp with 512DDR memory and it had one hell of an impact on it.

Try nod or mcafee enterprise 8. IMO

6. Blackcat

As with all software, just because KAV 5 slowed down your computer, does not mean it will have this effect on all systems.

That's why most people, including myself, suggest trialing software first, as all systems have different software/hardware combinations which may cause conflicts with a particular AV.

Therefore, bravesrule will not know whether KAV or any of the other suggestions are viable, unless he tests them out on his particular system setup.