AntiVir Premium

Discussion in 'other anti-virus software' started by Blackcat, Jun 3, 2006.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Blackcat

Blackcat Registered Member

Has anyone upgraded from the Classic to the Premium version of AntiVir?

I am particularly interested in whether Server availability and speed is better than with the Classic ones, since the Premium Servers are supposedly "Exclusive".

I am on dial-up here in the UK and consistently with the Classic version I am seeing download speeds of only 1-2kB/s.

Overall, is it worth upgrading to Premium.

2. .....

..... Registered Member

Speaking only about the servers: I can max out my connection (~240kB/s) with the premium... i'm always timed out with the classic. I live in the UK.

3. dan_maran

dan_maran Registered Member

OT:
    BC-- How do you deal?? :)
    /OT

Sorry I have no experience with the premium, but I never have a severe problem with the free servers here in extreme south east virginia.

4. mikel108

mikel108 Registered Member

Here in Canada there is a big difference in the speed of the servers when comparing premium to classic.

As for being worth it to upgrade...I am happy with the purchase. The product is easy enough for my wife and kids. Avira updates very frequently. Best part is I find it as good as any other and it only cost me $28 canadian (about $25 USD).

5. Firecat

Firecat Registered Member

Yes, the download servers seem to offer better speeds with the Premium version.

6. pilotart

pilotart Registered Member

South Florida, usually on Dialup WiFi when traveling) and last update (Dialup) was 5 seconds to connect, 5 seconds to download "product info file" then less than 20 seconds for internal file comparison, 15 seconds to download new files and 3 seconds to stop and restart AntiVir; 44 seconds total, WiFi might cut that by 15 seconds.