Antivir false positives??!

Discussion in 'other anti-virus software' started by Labrie, Apr 4, 2006.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Labrie

Labrie Registered Member

Well as im not an antivirus expert i may not state that the last 2 detections made by antivir are not false positives...but i assume, usin common sense, that if antivir is the only one who detects as malicious 2 apparent safe programs well i guess that it should be a fp.

Well here are the facts:

Antivir detects as trojan downloader banload 0.49 a component from winrar, to be exact: zip.sfx

It also detects, this time using its heuristic, as hijacker probably variant, a component of a online golf game..."shot online international", concretely: egrnapx2.dll.

The last one is really annoying coz everytime i launch de program to play online antivir does its job very well hehe, but i think this time is mistaken, and it´d be great that antivir experts fix this fp, coz is the only detectin it.

Regards,

vicent.

2. RejZoR

RejZoR Lurker

Send the files to Avira (former H+BEDV) team to take a look at them.
    Users here can't really help you, but AntiVir programmers and analysts can.

3. pilotart

pilotart Registered Member

[​IMG]

If you are positive that they are False Positive, just add them to your Exception pages for Scan and Guard.

To send the file/s to AntiVir, if you have filled in the Email blocks under General tree,
    then you can use that Email icon on your Quarantine page to send to AntiVir.

Attached Files:

4. Labrie

Labrie Registered Member

Tx for the quick reply, friends. Well im a good boy and the first thing i did was to send the files to antivir ;) Its not my intention to bash, particulary when i adore this product, just helping out.

The exception thing doesnt work for me, i have done what you told me but antivir keeps detecting the hijacker probably variant file.

anyway, your advice is really appreciated.

labrie.:D

5. RejZoR

RejZoR Lurker