Anon Direct download

Discussion in 'privacy technology' started by HungryToLearn, Sep 15, 2013.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Hello to everyone, i should admit that im a newb about security and anonymity, but recently i read many articles about how the gov and the big sites like google etc are controlling our personal info and i really really hate that. So its 2 weeks im trying to learn as much as possible to protect myself against this anti democratic mess and i really love this forum, its full of interesting things.

What i wanted ask you today is what is, in your expert opinion, the MOST secure way to direct download a file from sites like depositfile, rapidshare, filefactory etc etc.

Lets assume i have the link of a file such as a pdf or a telefilm and i dont want my isp knows what im downloading, what i should do? (i know its quite impossible to be 100% anon but what i should do to be close to that?)

I read that download files from Tor browser isnt safe, moreover its not fair cause it slow the net.
    It's a server proxy enough? I was thinking to download a file via "Freegate" but i think its very similar to Tor right and they can know what im doing right?

Other ways? Using a free proxy from gatherproxydotcom?
    Or i should buy a VPN service like AirVPN to be safer?

Please help me to increase my knowledge about this, i would really appreciate your help (and sorry for my bad english im not from usa)

2. subhrobhandari

subhrobhandari Registered Member

Well, if we dont get into the debacle if you are downloading copyrighted files etc. I guess a VPN that does not log much (essentially all VPNs store some logs to prevent abuses and not to get into any legal fiasco) and uses encrypted connection should be sufficient for this if host also uses encrypted connection. And you need to be sure your DNS isnt leaking. Remember the hosts still store the IPs from the files are being downloaded and they might be shared with third parties.