"Amazing Software Products" - trustworthy ?

Discussion in 'other anti-malware software' started by ~*Nat*~, Dec 7, 2004.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. ~*Nat*~

    ~*Nat*~ Registered Member

    Good Evening,

    I came across this website: http://www.amazingsoftwareproducts.com/
    They claim their software are all Spy and adware free.
    I'm just not sure - the word "Amazing" sounds a bit cheesy to me..and I've never heard of them...not popular ? :doubt:

    What do you guys think...would it be OK and safe to download from there ?

    Looking forward for all your wise advice ! :)
  2. Weber

    Weber Registered Member

    I wouldn't trust.

    They have Enigma Browser and, if i'm not mistaken, Enigma Browser is not good...
  3. ronjor

    ronjor Global Moderator

  4. snowbound

    snowbound Retired Moderator

  5. GlobalForce

    GlobalForce Regular Poster

  6. nadirah

    nadirah Registered Member

    I say I don't find them trustworthy in any way.
  7. ~*Nat*~

    ~*Nat*~ Registered Member

    I knew I could trust my instincts...I just wanted to make sure and see what all You think about "them".
    You helped convince me NOT to download from there.
    Thank You All very much...also for all the cool links - Wonderful !!! :)
  8. ~*Nat*~

    ~*Nat*~ Registered Member

    I know, and I will. That's why I like it here so much. ;) :)
  9. Gerald O'Dea

    Gerald O'Dea Registered Member

    We at Amazing Software Products are very trustworthy. If you opt not to install the Advanced Searchbar, then you don't have to. It's the second dialog screen during the install. Just click on "No Thanks" and it won't install and you get a full free program on us.

    Is Macromedia 's Shockwave not trustworthy because it bundles the Yahoo Toolbar? Is DIVx not trustworthy because it bundles the Google Toolbar? No, it's all about letting the user know about and opt out of installing the toolbar, and giving the user the full program that they expect, which is what we do as well.


    And the Enigma Browser is good and like all of our other products has no spyware, no adware, no malware, just plain old software.

    Before you jump to conclusions do a little research or feel free to ask me any questions.

    Gerald O'Dea
    Amazing Software Products, Inc.
  10. GlobalForce

    GlobalForce Regular Poster

    Hi Gerry,

    If you found any of my comments offensive concerning software available from your website,
    please excuse my not reading your Amazing Software eula. I also claim no expertise in legal phrasing.

    I'm a little confused though....for example, ModemBoost from your site offers the privacy disclosure at xxx.amazingsoftwareproducts.com/....yet when I click for the program it brings me to xxx.modemboost.com/....
    where there is no privacy statement.

    Are these two sites under one roof?
    If so, why would I not find a eula at modemboost.com?

    If I were to purchase above said software per the agreement at xxx.amazingsoftware.com under
    Privacy Policy which states....
    Individually identifiable information about you is not willfully disclosed to any third party without first receiving your permission, as explained in this privacy policy.

    Is permission granted through the following....
    What Information Do We Collect?...."except when you specifically and knowingly provide such information."

    I would knowingly provide information by purchase, correct?
    Is this the part I'm missing?

    I'd appreciate any additional thoughts.....

  11. snowbound

    snowbound Retired Moderator

    Hello and welcome to Wilders Gerald O'Dea.

    Now my .02.

    IMHO any site that offers downloads with known spyware (optional or otherwise) included is not going to get much, if any promotion or sympathy here....

    Tony Kliens BHO list, lists Advanced Searchbar with an X,


    "X" - Certified spyware/foistware, or other malware

    No offense intended.

  12. GlobalForce

    GlobalForce Regular Poster

    I also noted it looks like a fine product from Tronix Software (some notes halfway down the page).
    Taken with a grain of salt. See their popular with McAfee too.

    Thanks for your un-offensive input there snowbound. :cool:

  13. dog

    dog Guest

    Dog chips in .... Wow ... Your site makes leeching seem somewhat palatable ... safer too. :blink: :mad: :ninja:

    Kind of Funny how you conveniently pop in here, to defend your site ... do you actually browse Security Forums trying to defend those actions. But now that we know what you're all about, we can get the word out, and make sure that address is listed in host files, and restricted lists ='ling a few less visitors. ;)

    :ninja: *puppy* :ninja:
  14. Gerald O'Dea

    Gerald O'Dea Registered Member

    I was trying to inform the user that had asked a question if Amazing Software Products is trustworthy, and without a doubt we are.

    To Snowbound, I'm not sure why you would lie and say we have and "X" on Tony Klein's BHO list Advanced Searchbar as an "O" not an "X".

    Here are the lists.


    if you know of another one that shows it as an "X" please let me know the URL so I can have them correct it.

    To GlobalForce, it's a standard privacy policy, nothing is disclosed at all to third parties. period.

    "do you actually browse Security Forums trying to defend those actions." What actions? If someone calls into question wether my company is trusthworthy of course I'm going to say something, as my company is a reflection of me, being that I run it and it is trustworthy.

    I guess you all assume that all toolbars are bad unless they come from Google, Yahoo, and MSN, when the one I distribute has piles more features, over 90 search engines, and no advertising whatsoever.

    I don't understand, if I'm not a billion dollar company like Google but follow the same privacy practices and software distribution as them, then I'm a leech? Google is great but I'm doing bad evil stuff? How does that figure? Can someone provide their 2 cents on that? And not just make up stuff?

    Gerald O'Dea
    Amazing Software Products, Inc.
  15. snowbound

    snowbound Retired Moderator

    Please, with all do respect, don't call me a liar....

    When i went to the BHO list it showed an X for your searchbar as in the url i posted.

  16. Blackspear

    Blackspear Global Moderator

    2 .dlls, one with "X" and the other with "O"

    Attached Files:

  17. Gerald O'Dea

    Gerald O'Dea Registered Member

    That's not Tony Klein's BHO list and that isn't even our GUID {07531599-F255-4050-B96E-ECE5AA2E63A5}

    Ok you didn't lie, you just didn't tell the truth is that better?

    Gerald O'Dea
    Amazing Software Products, Inc.
  18. Gerald O'Dea

    Gerald O'Dea Registered Member

  19. Notok

    Notok Registered Member

    Snowbound's link does indeed show an "X", however searching for "Advanced Searchbar" brings up 4 entries, 2 O's, one X, and one TB.. Not taking either side, but this is a little confusing.

    edit: damn, gotta be faster than that to beat Blackspear! :D Still, Os aren't the same as Ls.. I personally need more info before forming an opinion, although I do have a hard time trusting vendors that create keyloggers..
  20. snowbound

    snowbound Retired Moderator

  21. Blackspear

    Blackspear Global Moderator

    Indeed it is, read the disclaimer written by Castlecops: Reprinted with permission from Tony Klein who owns the copyright to the list.

    That may be the case, it is your name listed there though.

    Not at all, very aggressive and uncalled for.


  22. Notok

    Notok Registered Member

    Correction to my above post.. searching by Advanced Searchbar brings up *3* Os and one X for me..
  23. iceni60

    iceni60 ( ^o^)

    is there software which is better then Macromedia's Shockwave, DIVx and Amazing Software Products?

    are the Yahoo Toolbar, Google Toolbar and Advanced Searchbar an issue for spyware fighters? i did try and find out but i dont know o_O
  24. ~*Nat*~

    ~*Nat*~ Registered Member

    Hello Mr. Gerald O'Dea,

    My question is, why with most of the software your company offers will there be automatically "Advanced Searchbar" included ?
    I hardly trust any toolbars - and my suspicion raised right then. Thats why I came here to get advise from the people of Wilders.

    Though your programs look promising, I can think of nothing noble
    about the unnessesarily addition of the searchbar...

    Can you please explain ?
  25. Gerald O'Dea

    Gerald O'Dea Registered Member

    Ok Blackspear, if it says it is then it must be true. Not. Castlecops sells/markets software that I give away free.

    sysinfo.org has the true list and they don't sell other software products.

    How's about this, if anyone can prove that Advanced Searchbar from Amazing Software Products, Inc. is spyware, real proof, other than some person not testing it and saying it is just because it's a toolbar then I'll give that person $200,000. I'm in the phone book and that's my real name so you'll have no problem getting the money.

    There needs to be a company that tests software and gives it a real offical seal of approval of being spyware, adware and malware free, but that company can't be in the software business, as it's a conflict of interest, like Alluria. I would be all for it as long as the fees aren't very high.

    Gerald O'Dea
    Amazing Software Products, Inc.
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.