Alternate to localhost

Discussion in 'NOD32 version 1 Forum' started by Melwyn, Jan 28, 2003.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Melwyn

    Melwyn Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2003
    Posts:
    16
    Hi.

    I will try to explain what I need.
    I am using Mozilla as a mail reader.
    I have set-up two accounts, each account will collect the mail to the same provider with the same login.

    So, for example, I have set-up :
    - Account A, pop account X, username Y
    - Account B, pop account X, username Y (the same one then)

    But Mozilla does not let me create two accounts with the same pop account and username.

    So I cannot put localhost in both accounts.

    So can I put something else that will do the same as localhost ?

    Thanks

    If you wonder why I have done such a thing, it is because I want to be able to click on "check mail" button from both accounts (those accounts are in fact identities I use on web surfing), and Mozilla, when we ckick on this button, only checks current account.
     
  2. anders

    anders Eset Staff Account

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2002
    Posts:
    410
    You can also use "127.0.0.1" instead of "localhost". You can also use your computer name, or your IP-address. By editing the "hosts" file in Windows, you can also create "unlimited" alternatives that all point to 127.0.0.1.

    Best regards,
    Anders
    EuroSecure
     
  3. Melwyn

    Melwyn Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2003
    Posts:
    16
    My IP adress didnt work, but 127.0.0.1 worked. Thanks :)
    As I only need two accounts for now, I will stay with one with localhost and the other with 127.0.0.1, as I do not know how host files work.

    Thanks for all :)
     
  4. rodzilla

    rodzilla Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2002
    Posts:
    653
    Location:
    australia
    > You can also use "127.0.0.1" instead of "localhost".

    "127.0.0.1" is preferable to "localhost". If you type in "localhost" yourself then Windows might not recognize it ... but if you type in "127.0.0.1" and Windows changes it to "localhost" then Windows will always recognize it. (Just another little part of Bill's plot to drive us all crazy.) :eek: :eek: :eek:
     
  5. Melwyn

    Melwyn Registered Member

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2003
    Posts:
    16
    No no, when I typed localhost myself I had no problem with it :)
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.