after recover my 120gb disk only have 58gb left?

Discussion in 'Acronis True Image Product Line' started by udu, Feb 24, 2007.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. udu

udu Registered Member

hi there

i am a newbie on ti 10. i buyed a new 120gb disk for my dell-notebook(6400 inspiron). therefore i made a backup of my old 60gb disk. after that i changed it by 120gb and made a recovery. everything ran well and after reboot i had again windows with all programs running. but - instead of 120gb i had onyl 60gb, so it was exacty like the original disk. also in the bio there are only 60gb.

any ideas what i made wrong and how i can reconfigure it to 120gb?

rgds urs

2. Ralphie

Ralphie Registered Member

There are a few options to get back the rest of the space. This is the one I use.
    1. Make the bootable Rescue CD from the True Image software.
    2. Boot with the CD.
    3. From the menu choose Manage Acronis Secure Zone and create the Secure Zone. Any size will do as long as it is less than the missing space.
    4. Once the SZ is created go right back into Manage Acronis Secure Zone and delete the SZ.
    5. The process will ask if you want to allocate all the space to the rest of the drive (or words to that effect). Choose yes.
    6. Exit the CD menu, remove the CD and reboot.
    That's it.

3. seekforever

seekforever Registered Member

Hi Ralphie,

Since his BIOS says the disk is only 60GB will this trick still work?

To udu:

If it doesn't work have a look at:
    https://www.wilderssecurity.com/showthread.php?t=166528

A key part of the process in using, in his case, the Hitachi program to reset the disk size.

4. Ralphie

Ralphie Registered Member

You're right ... probably not ... I missed that part. Although I can't imagine why a modern notebook like that would have a bios that cannot see 120Gb.
    There's a very similar problem in this thread:
    https://www.wilderssecurity.com/showthread.php?t=166528

5. seekforever