After-Market GPS for Car

Discussion in 'polls' started by pvsurfer, Nov 7, 2006.

?

Which brand is the most reliable (instruction & build-quality)?

1. Cobra

0 vote(s)
    0.0%
  2. Garmin

33.3%
  3. Lowrance

0 vote(s)
    0.0%
  4. Magellan

25.0%
  5. Tom Tom

16.7%
  6. Other

25.0%
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. pvsurfer

pvsurfer Registered Member

I need to buy an after-market GPS for my car, but I'm a novice in this area. Because of vision problems, I'd like at least a 4" display, voice turn-instructions and it's got to be dash-mounted. But most of all, I want reliability (in its routing-directions and its build-quality).

Which brand do you recommend?

1. Cobra
    2. Garmin
    3. Lowrance
    4. Magellan
    5. Tom Tom
    6. Other

-------------

PS. I chose 'Other' so that the results would be visable to me.

Last edited: Nov 7, 2006
  2. bigc73542

bigc73542 Retired Moderator

I have used magellan in several rental cars and it has never failed to work perfectly. Very loud vocal instructions, large and clear display and can be mounted just about anywhere you want in the vehicle.

3. pvsurfer

Thanks for the reply bigc... Judging from the lack of participation in my poll, it appears that not too many here are using after-market GPS nav systems!

4. big ed

big ed Registered Member

I have MS Streets & Trips w/GPS for my laptop. Have only had it out for test runs and so far....ok...barely. As it's to be used mainly in a 40' L - 11.5' H - 8.6' W motorhome I would only use it for the main routes. Try backing up one of those babies after going 1 1/2 miles down a skinny Dead End street. Unlike a few others, it is not an RV friendly program.

I'm pretty sure that all these types of units carry a disclaimer as to their accuracy! Good way to check any of them out is to plot some trips to known destinations.

But...if there is a Boo Boo made I'm in the clear cause Wifey has to give me the turn by turn instructions!