Acronis True Image 9.0 Home Question.

Discussion in 'Acronis True Image Product Line' started by RR99i, Aug 18, 2006.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. RR99i

RR99i Registered Member

:) Hi everyone,

I'm very new to backup programs. I have a HP PC. So when something major goes wrong with my PC, I do a HP System Recovery. But I'm thinking about checking out Acronis True Image 9.0 Home. My question is, does Acronis True Image 9.0 Home have a system restore, like XP System Restore?

2. seekforever

seekforever Registered Member

Not in the sense that it tracks system changes and is able to revert to a saved configuration.

However, you have a complete system to restore by virtue of making an image at the appropriate time. If I am going to try new software or install a program I often will make a backup of my C drive such that I can go completely back to the old configuration if desired. Note that TI's backup definitely gets you back to exactly where you were if you restore an image. System Restore may or may not.

The only disadvantage with making an image is that it usually takes longer than making a restore point.

So TI can provide a restore point by virtue of making an image of your drive and at the same time give you a full backup of your system by the same image you made. System Restore makes a restore point but doesn't give you a full backup of your disk.

3. Mac25

Mac25 Registered Member

4. wsellars

wsellars Registered Member

I am actually testing the same thing right now with my HP Pav zd7000A laptop. Everytime it goes back to the shop it gets formated and I spend three days getting all my software back on it.

To answer your question you can do incremental and differential backups but it is not exactly the same thing as a restore point.