Acronis Backup & Recovery 10 Advanced Server Problems

Discussion in 'Other Acronis Products' started by troublemaker, Aug 6, 2009.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. troublemaker
    Offline

    troublemaker Registered Member

    Dear Users and Admins,

    I already posted in Acronis True Image thread, but no answer so far.
    I need help, please try!

    We are now testing the new Acronis Backup & Recovery 10 Advanced Server (Build #10273) in a special environment for testing purposes.

    We have got ten servers, six are domain controllers and four are member servers. One of the member servers is the backup server. All servers are running Windows server 2003 R2 standard 32bit with all service packs and updates. The LOG server is Microsoft SQL 2005 sp3.

    On all servers are agents with a domain admin account installed. All services are running correctly, all configurations are the same.

    Now the problem: If i start to plan a backup policy, everything works well. I can plan the policy and try to deploy it. But during the deployment i get several errors in the LOG file. The strange thing is: on some servers the backup tasks runs, on the others not.

    Here are the errors occuring during the deployment (i think you must read them out from bottom to top?):

    --------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
    --------------------
    Type: Warning
    Date and Time: 06.08.2009 10:34:30
    Backup plan: [none]
    Task: [none]
    Type of the managed unit: [none]
    Managed unit: [none]
    Machine: s-control.domain-name.de
    Code: 10.747.921(0xA40011)
    Module: 164
    Owner:
    Message: During the backup policy '{0}' deployments agent of managed unit '{1}' could not create the backup plan.
    Additional Info:
    --------------------
    Errorcode: 17
    Module: 164
    LineInfo: 98e4081e93d41970
    Fields:
    Message: During the backup policy '{0}' deployments agent of managed unit '{1}' could not create the backup plan.
    --------------------
    Errorcode: 33
    Module: 162
    LineInfo: a9eb70aa1c10e9cc
    Fields: $module : C:\Programme\Acronis\BackupAndRecovery\mms.exe
    Message: Failed to create the backup plan.
    --------------------
    Errorcode: 34
    Module: 162
    LineInfo: 5ff111dc99e03d27
    Fields:
    Message: Failed to create the archive.
    --------------------
    Errorcode: 15
    Module: 173
    LineInfo: c93597b64f4e1c3d
    Fields: $module : C:\Programme\Acronis\BackupAndRecovery\mms.exe
    Message: Fehler: Unhandled exception of the routine.
    --------------------
    Errorcode: 1
    Module: 173
    LineInfo: fe7f283a2b384c81
    Fields:
    Message:
    --------------------
    Errorcode: 65520
    Module: 0
    LineInfo: bd28fdbd64edb8b9
    Fields:
    code : 2147943726
    Message: Logon failure: unknown user name or bad password.
    --------------------
    --------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

    But all users exists with the corresponding passwords!!!

    The Custumer Support is informed already, but they only told me to send my screenshots and the LOG files. They will give it to their development department and i have to wait.
    I have tried already much, but nothing helped. I reinstalled the agents with restarts between dinstallation and new installation. That worked fine on two servers, that's very strange. I tested different user accounts, no change.
    The documentation is much better then for Acronis True Image Echo Enterprise Server, but can't help me to solve these problems.

    Now, i don't know any more possibilities to try, perhaps you can help me?



    Many thanks already,

    troublemaker
    - IT Department -

    P.S.: The _acro_subst_user has got all nessesary privileges. He's in the domain admins group. This tip was in the knowledgebase of acronis.
    Last edited: Aug 10, 2009
  2. troublemaker
    Offline

    troublemaker Registered Member

    Okay,

    Now I've started some backup tasks on one seemingly working server, but the task fails with the following Message in the LOG file:
    ---------------------------
    Details
    ---------------------------
    Type: Error
    Datum und Zeit: 06.08.2009 14:04:01
    Backup plan: daily global inkremental databackup
    Task: Full backup
    Code: 11.863.304(0xB5050:cool:
    Module: 181
    Owner: admin@domain-name
    Message: Task 'Full-Backup' failed: 'Demon execution failed.
    Additional Info:
    ---------------------------
    Errorcode: 1
    Module: 0
    LineInfo: 600f7166ce397e68
    Fields: $module : C:\Programme\Acronis\BackupAndRecovery\mms.exe
    Message: Demon execution failed.
    ---------------------------

    What can all these problems be? Is this software a big beta ware? has got anyone else these problems or am i alone? Is there anyone where it works like in my scenario described? Please help me.



    Many thanks already,

    troublemaker
    - IT Department -
  3. troublemaker
    Offline

    troublemaker Registered Member

    Can't anyone help?

    Does anyboby use this program, too?

    Has anyone of you tips for installation or setup?

    It's very important, because we need a better backup startegy!

    Please help me...



    Many thanks already,

    troublemaker
    - IT Department -
  4. buczo
    Offline

    buczo Registered Member

    I'm testing trial version of Acronis Backup & Recovery Advanced 10 build 10287 since one week and i'm sure this product isn't working at all .

    I tried many difrent thing , reinstaled testing lab computers (Windows 2003 Polish version 32bit with all windows updates , without windows updates , installing as Adminsitrator of course , and installation always fails on stage "installing acronis windows agent" , so i manualy entered user account (not creating by installer) , and when i at least successfull installed any of my backup jobs doesnt work successfull ) .
    I tried backup to:
    - samba shares (on Linux box) - fails ,
    - Windows 2003 Share - fails
    - FTP ( proftpd & vsftpd deamon) - fails
    - Tape Streame HP Ultrium LTO-2 - successfull - but this is some joke - 40Gb was backuped in 10seconds (time of job execution) - of course on tape there isn't any valid archive ... and so on ....
    - Veryfication of all "Personal Vaults" - PASSED o_O


    I installed Windows 2003 English version - Trial Installer on that version installed ALL components successfull , but OF COURSE backup failed on all my Vaults .

    I think that version have a lot bugs and shouldn't be available for customers till Acronis will test it more and fix it !! . I spent all 5 workdays to test that solutions , read a lot knowledge base , i tried chat on LiveChat with acronis support but without success.

    OF COURSE previous verision : "Acronis True Image Echo Server" installs on both version of windows server (Polish & English) without any errors , and works on all my shares...

    I'm very disappointed of this version of Acronis , and i will test Veritas Netbackup , beacuse i have to find fast stable and working out of box solution for backup my couple of servers (Windows 2003, XP, Linux etc..) very quick , beacuse i have to spent my IT budget in a few weeks.




    Some my logs :

    Code:
    Type:          Error
    Date and time: 8/10/2009 2:10:56 AM
    Backup plan:   Backup 8/10/2009 2:09:25 AM
    Task:          Simple backup task
    Code:          11,863,304(0xB50508)
    Module:        181
    Owner:         Administrator@YOUR-B937E4AC4A
    Message:       
      Task 'Simple backup task' failed: 'Failed to open the backup location.
    Additional info: 
    --------------------
    Error code: 14
    Module: 64
    LineInfo: a1d3981537c68729
    Fields:  IsReturnCode : 1, $module : E:\Program Files\Acronis\BackupAndRecovery\mms.exe
    Message: Failed to open the backup location.
    

    Code:
    Type:          Error
    Date and time: 8/10/2009 2:17:35 AM
    Backup plan:   Backup full disk on tape
    Task:          Full backup ('once later' scheme)
    Code:          1(0x1)
    Module:        0
    Owner:         Administrator@YOUR-B937E4AC4A
    Message:       
      CreateProcessAsUserW failed.
    Additional info: 
    --------------------
    Error code: 1
    Module: 0
    LineInfo: 600f7166ce397c4e
    Fields:  $module : E:\Program Files\Acronis\BackupAndRecovery\DiskBundle.dll
    Message: CreateProcessAsUserW failed.
    --------------------
    Error code: 65520
    Module: 0
    LineInfo: bd28fdbd64edb8b9
    Fields:  code : 2147942487
    Message: The parameter is incorrect
    
    
  5. lord_flubber
    Offline

    lord_flubber Registered Member

    If you install Acronis Backup & Recovery 10 on a domain controller the acronis helper account '__acro_subst_user__' will be installed as Active Directory user (on normal hosts it is installed as local user). Each following setup on a domain controller host within the same domain overwrites the password credentials of this AD user and therefor breaks previous working setups.

    The following workaround is working for us:

    Install acronis on all domain controllers and than copy the the Key Value of
    HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\Software\Wow6423Node\Acronis\BackupAndRecovery\Settings\SubstUsers\__acro_subst_user__
    from the host of the last setup to all other domain controllers.

    lord_flubber
  6. troublemaker
    Offline

    troublemaker Registered Member

    Oh, thank you very much, lord_flubber!!!

    I've tested your tip and it seems to work!

    I will test it deeper tomorrow and report my results.

    I'm very proud, that some people are so nice and help other ones...


    Many thanks already,

    troublemaker
    - IT Department -
  7. buczo
    Offline

    buczo Registered Member


    In my case , I installed on Windows 2003 Server but without AD installed , and Win2003 Srv wasnt member of any Domain , so this tip doesn't work for me.
  8. troublemaker
    Offline

    troublemaker Registered Member

    Dear buzco,

    perhaps you can extract the installation files and install the agents manually.

    It's very important, that the services are running all under the same name.

    In our case it was domain\domain-admin.

    I hope that will help you.



    Many thanks already,

    troublemaker
    - IT Department -
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.