Acronis 9 Setup Help

Discussion in 'Acronis True Image Product Line' started by sylvia5, Aug 15, 2006.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. sylvia5

sylvia5 Registered Member

Sony Vaio, Windows XP MCE. 1GB Ram, 400 GB, with 29.0 GB being used. I will be using a Seagate 300 GB external drive, USB 2. I am totally new with this and would like some advice for using True Image 9.0. I want to back up my computer weekly to include everything, including the operating system. Can anyone give me pointers on getting this setup. When I tried I saw the C drive was 372.GB, but only 29.0 is being used, and the Seagate was 279.5. C drive is NTFS and the J (Seagate) drive is Fat 32 and is already partioned. Do I need to change the partition? Thanks for any help.
    Sylvia

2. MerlinAZ

MerlinAZ Registered Member

Re: Acronis 9 Sepup Help

I would do 2 things.
    Format the external drive to NTFS just to make file monitering easier. It doesn't have the 4 GB restriction that FAT has.
    Then run an image backup to the external drive.
    I create a folder and name it the date I'm backing up.
    Then do a total backup to that folder.
    If you want to do a few incremental backups to that same folder weekly after that, fine.
    I usually do a full backup once a month and incrementals weekly since not much changes for me.
    I then usually keep the last 2 or 3 backups just in case.

3. Mac25

Mac25 Registered Member

Re: Acronis 9 Sepup Help

yea! what he said.

4. sylvia5

Looks as if I can't type either (sepup for setup). Thanks so much for the help and I will try this later tonight and post tomorrow if I am successful.
    Sylvia

5. sylvia5