Acronis 9 and Go Back question.

Discussion in 'Acronis True Image Product Line' started by danny9, Jan 5, 2006.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. danny9

danny9 Departed Friend

I've been using Go Back for about 3 years now and recently purchased Acronis 9.
    I have made a full back up on an external hard drive.
    I have read that these 2 programs can conflict with each other.
    My question is this.
    Go Back will restore my computer to an earlier time if something goes wrong.
    If I took out Go Back could I use Acronis for basically the same thing? To fix a bad download for example?
    This maybe a lame question but I don't fully understand the capabilities of Acronis yet.
    Thanks for your help.

2. Texcritter

Texcritter Registered Member

Hi Danny9

As you probably know GoBack is running in the background all the time so you can revert your computer back to any safe point it has saved, which are quite frequently.

Acronis however has to be run to take a full or incremental image of your hard drive which can be quite large and take some time to do, therefore is not practical to do on a very regular basis. You can only revert back to any images you have taken.

Both programs in my opinion are very good but they do have different uses, and they can be run together (with provisos).

Hope this helps

3. danny9

danny9 Departed Friend

Yes it helps and thanks.
    Would you know what the provisos are?

4. Texcritter

Texcritter Registered Member

From Acronis FAQ

Is Acronis Disk Director Suite 10.0 compatible with Norton GoBack?