Access to My Network Places (Rule?)

Discussion in 'LnS English Forum' started by tharris297, Nov 24, 2004.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. tharris297

tharris297 Registered Member

Ok ... uninstalled Zone Alarm to give Look N Stop a try. As soon as I rebooted, I tried to print to my printer, which is shared through Windows networking i guess. I went to My Network Places and I cannot access any of my shared folder or printers. I uninstalled Look N stop, reinstalled ZOnealarm and now I can print and share again. I know Look N Stop is like one of the most secure Firewalls, but man, I do I have to create a rule just to use windows networking? I am very new to this entire rule making firewalling, Been using Zone alarm for a while, but thought I needed to check out stonger firewalling. I searched the forum and couldnot find any questions or answers that I felt worked in my situation. I have no idea which port is used for My Network places ... some help please

Thanks in advance
    Thomas

2. Frederic

Frederic LnS Developer

3. SimonW

SimonW Registered Member

Hi,

I always find the rule at the very bottom of this page (sharing.rie) works well and is already English:

http://www.looknstop.com/En/rules/rules.htm

(BTW Frederic - the table at the top of this linked page references this file as well but the download link in the table gets the french rule file instead :) )

SimonW

4. tharris297

Thanks .... that deserves a bookmark!

5. nameless

nameless Registered Member

Just a note: Those rules use NetBIOS ports 137-139, and not the Win2K/XP SMB protocol (TCP 445), which is all that is really required on those platforms.

6. tharris297

Does this mean my netbios is now open to the world? Am i now hackableo_O

7. nameless

No, you're not any more "hackable" unless you open up NetBIOS to the outside world. But you might still wish to get rid of NetBIOS altogether.